follow us on...

Boys’ youth lacrosse: Conestoga wins 5th straight Chester County Lacrosse Association U15A championship by edging newcomer Ashbee, 7-6

Thursday, 9th June 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, Youth, Posted 6/9/11
Staff Report

Steven Hildebrand scored with 50.4 seconds left in overtime Wednesday as Conestoga Youth Lacrosse claimed its fifth straight Chester County Lacrosse Association U15A championship with a thrilling 7-6 victory over Ashbee at United Sports in Downingtown.

Conestoga won its fifth straight Chester County Lacrosse Association U15A championship

Conestoga led, 6-4, after three periods, but Ashbee rebounded with strong work on groundballs. Shane McBride drew Ashbee within one goal with 7:06 left in the game and then after Conestoga fought off two man-down situations Ashbee’s Steven Saul scored his third goal of the night with 2:18 to play in regulation to send it into overtime.

Conestoga’s Jack Marshall won the opening draw in OT, but CYL failed to capitalize on the possession and the teams went back and forth for three minutes. Neither squad got off a shot until Conestoga goalie John Roulston came out of the net to smother an Ashbee attackman on a loose ball scramble.

Roulston passed to defenseman Parke Schweiter, who carried into the Ashbee half and dumped to Greg Taicher – who hit Hildebrand for the game-winner.

“I thought to shoot, but then thought of dodging and started to pull out but saw an opening and shot it,” said Hildebrand.

Conestoga Head Coach John Hlidebrand said, “It was a great all around team effort.”

Conestoga had jumped out to a quick 1-0 lead as Lane Odom took a pass from Matt Miller and stuck a bullet low and away with barely a minute gone. Less than five minutes later ‘Stoga’s Matt Miller scored unassisted at 5:14 to make it 2-0.

Marshall (9 for 15 on face-offs) was strong at the X, but penalties plagued Conestoga and at 8:08 of the second quarter Ashbee’s Cory Richards scored on a man-up opportunity off a pass from Phil Roqui. Seventeen seconds later, Ashbee’s Alec Haas tied it up by scoring unassisted.

Conestoga roared back with a goal by Jace Kienzle, assisted by Christopher Brady at 5:40. But a determined Ashbee squad rebounded and Steven Saul scored the first of his three goals to tie it at 3:27. With a minute remaining Sam Friedman made a nifty feed to Christopher Brady, who stuck it at :59 to give Conestoga a 4-3 lead at halftime.

Ashbee struck first in the second half with Saul ripping the twine with his second goal, but ‘Stoga came back 50 seconds later when Brady hit Mike Nagle to go up one. Conestoga was not finished, and scored on a thrilling fast break by Odom, who hit a streaking Hildebrand to put Conestoga up 6-4.

Jack Green had eight saves in goal for Conestoga in the first half while Roulston had four saves in the second half.

Saul led Ashbee with three goals while Colin Reder was a standout in goal with 12 saves.

“This is one of the toughest games and toughest teams Ashbee has played all year and it definitely lived up to hype between the two programs,” said Ashbee coach Jason Christmas. “Hats off to Conestoga team and coaches as they made every possession challenging and tested us all four quarters.

“That is one of the reasons why we made the move to CCLA; to have our boys face those type of challenges from every team in the league. Even the last place team in division kept the games close; not a 10-15 goal blowout margin.

“We definitely traveled a lot farther than usual, but it was good to see different areas our teams had never played at before. It was refreshing for me and our coaching staff. Without the help of coaches Tom Pillion, Scott Ertel and John Christmas it might have been a tougher transition for our team, but they along with Ashbee board made transition as smooth as possible.”

(The championship game will be shown on Access Lacrosse at on Monday night)

The entire Conestoga team included defensemen Steven Hildebrand (attack), Damase Bagbanan (defense), Luke Taicher (attack), Christian Doms (defense), Peter Rohr (midfield), Matthew Prestipino (defense), Matt Nagle (attack), Gregory Taicher (attack), Jack Monahan (midfield), Jace Kienzle (attack), Quinn Bridge (attack), Jack Green (goalie), John Roulston (goalie), Jack Marshall (midfield), Philip Piasecki (midfield), Robert Sedlak (defense), Sam Friedman (midfield), Zachary DeCarlo, Jr, (defense), Lane Odom (midfield), Timmy Muir (midfield), Parke Schweiter (defense), Matt Miller (midfield), Christopher Brady (midfield), Jack Braun (midfield), Samuel Denious (defense).

Conestoga 7, Ashbee 6, OT

Steven Hildebrand 2g
Christopher Brady 1g, 2 a
Matt Miller 1g, 1a
Lane Odom 1g, 1a
Jace Kienzle 1g
Mike Nagle 1g
Quinn Bridge 1a
Sam Friedman 1a
Greg Taicher 1a
Jack Green 8 saves in 1st half
John Roulston 4 saves in 2nd half

Corey Richards 1g
Phil Poqui 1a
Steven Saul 3g
Alec Haas 1g
Shane McBride 1g
Colin Reder 12 saves


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines