follow us on...

Boys’ club roundup: Duke’s Lacrosse Club Lite reaches finals of High School A Division at EvoGames despite youthful team

Tuesday, 19th July 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 7/19/11

Duke’s Lacrosse Club Lite reached the championship game of the High School A Division of the EvoGames last weekend at United Sports in Downingtown.

Duke's Lacrosse Club Lite advanced to the championship game of the High School A Division at the EvoGames last weekend at United Sports. Front row sitting left to right Chris Brady (Conestoga), Ryan Kern (Appoquinmink), Lucas Spence (Springfield-D), Keith White (Methacton), Nick Waigurski (Holy Name), Chris Isenberg (Malvern Prep), Sean Tornetta (Perkiomen Valley) Kneeling l to r Danny Donovan (Unionville), John Lyman (Ridley), Sam Fink (Wilmington Friends), Freddy Freibott (Salesianum), Scott McAvoy (Wyomissing), Evan Wolf (Lower Merion), Matt Schleicher (Emmaus), Zach Hare (Spring-Ford), Phillip Robertson (St. Annes Belfield), Tyler Keen (Downingtown West), Will Mette (Tower Hill) Standing l to r Coach Jason Christmas, David Wolfson (Shipley), Steve Bruder (Malvern Prep), Curtis Zappala (Episcopal Ac.), Dylan McCaughan (Shawnee), Will Kay (Malvern Prep), Matt Miller (Malvern Prep), Mike Thompson (Radnor), Colin Reder (Episcopal Academy), Rob Kuhn (St. Joseph's Pep), Andrew Pettit (Tower Hill), Corey Richards (Haverford School), Coach Mike Mackrides

Duke’s Lite, using a young lineup that included 17 rising freshmen, won its first five games to advance to the title game where it fell to Team Philadelphia Elite. The coaches were Jason Christmas and Mike Mackrides.

Duke’s Lite highlights included:
— Colin Reder (Episcopal Academy) and Ryan Kern (Wilmington Friends, DE) were strong in goal.
–Robert Kuhn (Moorestown, NJ), Will Mette (Tower Hill, DE) and Steve Bruder (Malvern Prep) were key contributors as transition defensive midfielders.
–Freddy Freibott (Salesianum School, DE) and Chris Eisenberg (Malvern Prep) led the defense.
–Nick Waligurski (Holy Name), Scott McAvoy (Wyomissing), Keith White (Collegeville), Philip Robertson (St. Anne’s Belfield, VA.), and Matt Schleicher (Emmaus) led the attack,
–Tyler Keen (Downingtown West), Wil Kay (Malvern Prep), Chris Brady (Conestoga) and Matt Miller (Conestoga) were keys at midfield.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines