follow us on...

Boys’ club news: HEADstrong, Mesa Fresh 2012, Rebel Elite

Thursday, 17th March 2011

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 3/17/11

The HEADstrong Lacrosse Club has added a freshman team to its program and has announced its coaches for the 2012 season.

HEADstrong will now employ three teams – Gold (freshmen), Blue (sophomore) and Green (juniors, seniors).

The HEADstrong club program was created to honor the memory of former Ridley High great Nick Colleluori, who died in 2006 after a fight against Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma while a student-athlete at Hofstra University. Colleluori created the HEADstrong Foundation, which raises money and awareness for all blood cancers and runs numerous events, including the Nick Colleluori Classic and the Nick Colleluori Women’s Classic.

The head coach for HEADstrong is Michael Colleluori, Nick’s younger brother and also a former standout at Hofstra.

“My goal for this program is to provide an experience unlike most by teaching our players the game of lacrosse and about life to mold them into young adults,” said Michael Colleluori. “The HEADstrong lacrosse player is held to a much high accountability with mandatory community services and representing the HEADstrong Foundation in honor of Nicholas E. Colleluori.”

The HEADstrong coaches are:
HEADstrong Gold (Freshman): Matt Flynn (Ridley High/Ridley Youth coach), Casey O’Rourke (Penn/Haverford School);
HEADstrong Blue (Sophomores): Brian Neary (Drexel/La Salle); Stephen Layne (Loyola/Malvern Prep); Eddie DiDonato (Villanova/La Salle)
HEADstrong Green (Juniors-Seniors): Michael Colleluori (Hofstra/Ridley); Brett Moyer (Hofstra/Ridley); Mike McCauley (Neumann/Ridley); Bill McGlone (Wings/Maryland/Ridley)

Colleluori said that plans are in the making to create a girls’ club program.

Mesa Fresh has 16 Division 1 recruits in Class of 2012

Mesa Fresh 2012 now has 16 players on its roster that have committed to Division I players. Recently, it was reported in Inside Lacrosse that Laxachusetts had the most 2012 recruits, with 13.

The Boston-based club team now has 15, including Duxbury goalie Henry Buonagurio, who committed to Drexel. Laxachusetts and Mesa Fresh split in two games last summer at the Tri-State tournament.

The 16 Mesa Fresh 2012 players that have committed to Division I programs include Conestoga’s Bradlee Lord and Tyler Brooke (Maryland), Michael McGregor and Jason Klunder (Drexel), Adam Goins (Notre Dame), and Jamie Ikeda (Duke) and Connor Frisina (UMass); Haverford School’s Warner and Connor Bailey and Zach Rego (Georgetown), Will McNamara (Virginia) and Sam Rohr (Penn); Radnor’s Ben Junior (Lehigh); Episcopal Academy’s Tyler Odell (Penn); Garnet Valley’s Ryan Lehman (Maryland); and Great Valley’s Ben Hughes (High Point, NC).

Rebel Elite has 12 players moving on to college lacrosse

Rebel Elite has announced that 12 of its players in the Class of 2011 have committed to play college lacrosse.

The Division I players include: Plymouth Whitemarsh’s Colin Joka (Marist) and Gryphin Kelly (Hobart), Penn Charter’s Joey Sankey (North Carolina), Wissahickon’s Beau Gomez (Navy), Bishop Shanahan’s Keegan Lawton (Lafayette), Malvern Prep’s Jack Morgenthaler (Navy), St. Joseph’s Dylan O’Donnell (St. Joseph’s) and Lafayette’s Carl Lampe.

The Division III players include: Malvern Prep’s Matt Neeson (Denison), Penncrest’s Andrew Caldwell (Salisbury) and Kingsway’s Frank Magazu (Virginia Wesleyan). Also, Allentown Central Catholic’s Brian Topper has committed to play at Richmond, now at the MCLA level and expected to move to Division I in several years.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines