follow us on...

Virginia’s Clausen (Hill School), Delaware’s Dickson, Penn’s DeLuca named as Tewaaraton Trophy finalists

Thursday, 13th May 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 5/13/10
From Press Releases and Staff Reports

Penn's Ali DeLuca

The Greater Washington Sports Alliance and the University Club of Washington, DC announced that Virginia seniuor defenseman Ken Clausen (Hill School) and Delaware senior attackman Curtis Dickson and Penn senior midfielder Ali DeLuca have been listed among the 2010 Men’s and Women’s Tewaaraton Trophy Finalists.

The Tewaaraton Award is presented to the most outstanding men’s and women’s collegiate lacrosse player as determined by two selection committees, consisting of collegiate coaches throughout all divisions of the sport.

The selection process began with a list of over 100 of the nation’s top men’s and women’s collegiate players, which was then narrowed down to selective list of fewer than 50. Of these, ten have been named as finalists, five men and five women, in which only two will be able to walk away with the sport’s top honor.

Extraordinary is a great way to describe DeLuca’s career at Penn. Entering the NCAA Tournament, DeLuca has 202 points, second-most by a Penn player in program history. Earlier this season, she scored her 130th career goal, eclipsing the school record of 129. Currently, DeLuca has 140 career goals, reaching the 40-goal plateau for the second time in her career this season. Her 62 career assists are third all-time at Penn.

In 2010, DeLuca was named unanimous Ivy League Player of the Year after leading the Quakers in goals (40), assists (25) and points (65). She also paced the Quakers with 34 draw controls while adding 26 ground balls and causing 18 turnovers. A unanimous first-team All-Ivy performer and an all-tournament selection at the inaugural Ivy League Tournament, DeLuca currently had the third-highest single-season point output by a Quaker, with her 65 points the most by a Penn player since 1982.

“We are all really excited for Ali,” head coach Karin Brower Corbett said. “She has worked really hard over her career to be the best player she could be and help make this team what it is today. I also want to thank the selection committee for recognizing all that Ali has done for the program and honoring her in this way.”
“I truly believe that each of these finalists has showcased the ability to step forward and claim the Tewaaraton Award as their own this year. As I have stated throughout the season, the selection committees have done an extraordinary job at selecting the top contenders battling for this year’s award. Everyone is welcome to come out and see which of these finalist has stepped forward to claim their place in history at the June 3rd Award Ceremony” stated Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance.

All finalists will be invited to the June 3rd Tewaaraton Award Ceremony taking place in Washington, D.C. at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian. This is the third time that the ceremony has taken place in the Museum which includes an exhibit on the Native roots and history of lacrosse.

Men’s 2010 Tewaaraton Award Finalists
Ken Clausen, Virginia – Senior (Defense), Downingtown, P
Ned Crotty, Duke – Senior (Attack), New Vernon, N.J.
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook – Junior (Midfield), New Westminster, B.C., Canada
Curtis Dickson, Delaware – Senior (Attack), Port Coquitlam, B.C., Canada
Joel White, Syracuse – Junior (Defense), Cortland, N.Y.

Women’s 2010 Tewaaraton Award Finalists
Ali DeLuca, Pennsylvania – Senior (Midfield), Hillsborough, N.J.

Katrina Dowd, Northwestern – Senior (Midfield), Yorktown Heights, N.Y.
Brittany Kalkstein, Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD
Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland – Senior (Midfield), Phoenix, MD
Jenn Russell, North Carolina – Senior (Midfield), Andover, MA

Tags: , ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines