follow us on...

Tewaaraton nominees: Virginia’s Clausen, Drexel’s Manos, Delaware’s Dickson, Penn’s DeLuca

Thursday, 15th April 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 4/15/10

With only 51 days left before the 2010 Tewaaraton Award is presented to the nation’s top male and female collegiate lacrosse players, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance has announced this year’s nominees.

On the list are Virginia senior defenseman Ken Clausen (Hill School), Drexel sophomore goaltender Mark Manos (Salesianum School, DE) and Delaware senior attackman Curtis Dickson.

With what started as a list of over 100 of the nation’s top men’s and women’s collegiate players is now a list of fewer than 50. Of these nominees, only ten will be named as finalists; five men and five women in which only two will walk away with the sport’s top honor. All Tewaaraton nominees are screened and selected by two Selection Committees. The Selection Committees are comprised of collegiate coaches, one committee for the men and one committee for the women.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is given annually to the NCAA men’s and women’s lacrosse player of the year. This will be the 10th annual awards ceremony and is the “Year of the Seneca”.

The award will be presented on June 3 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. For additional information on the award or to purchase tickets please visit:

Men’s 2010 Tewaaraton Award Nominees

Drew Bezek, Le Moyne – Senior (Defense), Lowville, N.Y.
Billy Bitter, North Carolina – Junior (Attack), Stowe, VT
Shamel Bratton, Virginia – Junior (Midfield), Huntington Station, N.Y.
Jay Card, Hofstra – Junior (Attack), Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Brian Carroll, Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Towson, MD
Grant Catalino, Maryland – Junior (Attack), Webster, NY
Ken Clausen, Virginia – Senior (Defense), Hill School/Downingtown, PA
Ned Crotty, Duke – Senior (Attack), New Vernon, N.J.
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook – Junior (Midfield), New Westminster, B.C.,Canada
Curtis Dickson, Delaware – Senior (Attack), Port Coquitlam, B.C., Canada
Brian Farrell, Maryland – Junior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD
Ryan Flanagan, North Carolina – Junior (Defense), West Islip, N.Y.
John Galloway, Syracuse – Sophomore (Goalkeeper), Syracuse, N.Y.
Jake Hagelin, Loyola – Junior (Goalkeeper), Havre de Grace, MD
Cody Jamieson, Syracuse – Senior (Attack), Six Nations, Ontario, Canada
Mark Manos, Drexel – Sophomore (Goalkeeper), Salesianum School, DE/West Chester, PA
Jack McBride, Princeton – Junior (Attack), Madison, N.J.
Jordan McBride, Stony Brook – Junior (Attack), New Westminster, B.C.
Parker McKee, Duke – Senior (Defense), Old Greenwich, CT
Sam Miller, Salisbury – Sophomore (Defense), Ithaca, N.Y.
Rob Pannell, Cornell – Sophomore (Attack), Smithtown, N.Y.
Max Quinzani, Duke – Senior (Attack), Duxbury, MA
Steele Stanwick, Virginia – Sophomore (Attack), Baltimore, MD
Jeremy Thompson, Syracuse – Junior (Midfield), Nedrow, N.Y.
Joel White, Syracuse – Sophomore (Defense), Cortland, N.Y.
R.J. Wickham, Navy – Sophomore (Goalkeeper), Penn Yan, N.Y.

Women’s 2010 Tewaaraton Award Nominees

Sarah Bullard, Duke – Junior (Midfield), Needham, MA
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt – Sophomore (Midfield), Bel Air, MD
Kristen Carr, North Carolina – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD
Ali Deluca, Pennsylvania – Senior (Midfield), Hillsborough, N.J.
Christina Dove, Syracuse – Junior (Midfield), Bel Air, MD
Katrina Dowd, Northwestern – Senior (Midfield), Yorktown Heights, NY
Kaitlin Duff, Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Bethesda, MD
Hillary Fratzke, Towson – Senior (Midfield), Centreville, MD
Lindsay Gilbride, Duke – Senior (Midfield), Alexandria, VA
Kim Griffen, James Madison – Senior (Midfield), Jarrettsville, MD
Blake Hargest, Franklin & Marshall – Senior (Attack), Cockeysville, MD
Liz Hogan, Syracuse – Junior (Goalkeeper), Victor, NY
Alison Jaeger, College of New Jersey – Junior (Midfield), Hampton, N.J.
Karri Ellen Johnson, Maryland – Sophomore (Attack), Annapolis, MD
Sarah Jonson, William & Mary – Junior (Defense), Dallas, TX
Brittany Kalkstein, Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD
Caitlin McFadden, Maryland – Senior (Midfield), Phoenix, MD
Greta Myer, Dartmouth – Junior (Midfield), Denver, CO
Logan Ripley, North Carolina – Senior (Goalkeeper), Earlysville, VA
Jenn Russell, North Carolina – Senior (Midfield), Andover, MA
Shannon Smith, Northwestern – Sophomore (Midfield), West Babylon, N.Y.
Danielle Spencer, Northwestern – Senior (Midfield), Brighton, N.Y.
Karissa Taylor, Maryland – Senior (Defense), Easton, MD
Leigh Titus, Lock Haven – Senior (Midfield), Towaco, N.J.
Julie Wadland, Dartmouth – Senior (Goalkeeper), Andover, MD


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines