follow us on...

Springfield-Montco to host 8-team benefit tourney to honor former coach on April 24

Tuesday, 6th April 2010

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 4/6/10

The Springfield-Montco girls’ lacrosse team will host and eight-team tournament at its 9th Annual Lacrosse-A-Thon to benefit the Deb MacFarland-Corrigan Memorial Fund on Saturday, April 24.

Deb MacFarland-Corrigan died in 2002 due to Hodgkins Lymphoma. She was a student-athlete at Springfield and valedictorian of the graduating class of 1991 who later returned to teach at Erdenheim Elementary and to coach middle school lacrosse at Springfield.

The Debbie MacFarland-Corrigan Memorial Fund was established to support educational programs at Erdenheim Elementary of the Springfield School District. Some funds also will go to Springfield’s lacrosse program.

This is the seventh year the event has benefited the Debbie MacFarland-Corrigan Memorial Fund. The first two years funds went to the American Cancer Society.

“Once Debbie passed away, and because she was part of the Spartan Lax family, it made perfect sense to make our lax-a-thon a benefit for her memorial fund,” said Spartans coach Ken Rodoff.

The Lacrosse-A-Thon has grown in the past few years. Originally it was a community event – and last year it expanded to a four-team tourney. This year the tourney has doubled and each team will play two Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association-sanctioned games.

Other teams include Cheltenmham, Gwynedd Mercy Academy, Hatboro-Horsham, Mount St. Joseph, Penn Wood, Lower Merion and Central Bucks South.

The event, which will be held at Springfield’s Stadium in Erdenheim, will feature refreshments as well as activities for youths.

Game 1 Hatboro-Horsham v. Gwynedd Mercy Academy @ 9:00AM Stadium
Game 2 Springfield-Montco v. Penn Wood @ 9:30AM Paper Mill Road Field
Game 3 Cheltenham v. Central Bucks South @ 10:30AM Stadium
Game 4 Mount St. Joseph’s v. Lower Merion @ 11:00AM Paper Mill Road Field

Game 5 Consolation Game 1 v. Consolation Game 2 @ 12:30PM Paper Mill Road Field
Game 6 Winner Game 1 v. Winner Game 2 @ 12:30PM Stadium
Game 7 Consolation Game 3 v. Consolation Game 4 @ 2:00PM Paper Mill Road Field
Game 8 Winner Game 3 v. Winner Game 4 @ 2:00PM Stadium



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines