follow us on...

Philly women lead Stanford, voted as favorite to repeat in Mountain Pacific Sports Federation

Sunday, 17th January 2010

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 1/17/10
From Press Releases

Stanford, of head coach Amy Bokker (Phoenixville), collected 36 points along with six first-place votes in being projected to win its sixth straight Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Championship.

The Cardinal returns 236 of its 264 goals scored from last year (89 percent). The team’s top seven goal scorers return, including 30-goal scorers Sarah Flynn (36), Lauren Schmidt (35), Dana Lindsay (32) and Karen Nesbitt (30). Schmidt, now a redshirt junior,

was the 2009 MPSF Player of the Year and team scoring leader (57 points). Defensively, junior goalkeeper Annie Read returns after playing every minute last season and owning an 8.83 goals-against average.

Stanford also features senior Julie Christy (Conestoga), who had 24 goals and senior Amanda Schwab (Harriton), who added 21 goals, and ace reserve Ashley Aruffo (Episcopal Academy), who had three goals

The two through four spots in the poll were separated by a total of two points, involving the same teams in last year’s three-way tie for second place. Taking second was Oregon with 27 points. The Ducks return a strong midfield in Jana and Jess Drummond, and 2008 MPSF Newcomer of the Year

Alex Breiner. California checked in at third with 26 points and one first-place vote. The Bears return All-MPSF selections Alex Tickner (35 goals in ’09) and defender Denna Faye Herald from last year’s team that reached the conference finals.

Denver totaled 25 points, good for fourth. Three-time All-MPSF honoree Ali Flury returns, leading the conference last year in points per game (3.77) and goals per game (3.23), while ’09 MPSF Newcomer of the Year in goalkeeper Ashley Harmon (Boyertown) is also back.

Rounding out this year’s preseason poll was UC Davis (16), St. Mary’s (11), and Fresno State (6). The Aggies shocked Denver in last year’s MPSF Tournament quarterfinals, and return last year’s top three scorers, including Britt Farquharson (46 goals/39 draw controls). The Gaels are highlighted by seniors Abbie Coleman (1.12 APG, # 8 in MPSF) and Amy Daniels (28 G/32 P), while the Bulldogs will be competing in their second season of competition, led by Heather Jack’s 11 goals from a year ago. A

conference game between Denver and St. Mary’s will open the 2010 season, on January 29 in Moraga, CA.

Rank Team Points (First-Place) 2009 Record/MPSF Finish

1 Stanford 36 (6) 14-4 overall; 6-0 MPSF/1ST

2 Oregon 27 12-5 overall; 4-2 MPSF/T-2ND

3 California 26 (1) 8-11 overall; 4-2 MPSF/T-2ND

4 Denver 25 10-8 overall; 4-2 MPSF/T-2ND

5 UC Davis 16 6-12 overall; 2-4 MPSF/5TH

6 St. Mary’s 11 3-13 overall; 1-5 MPSF/6TH

7 Fresno State 6 0-14 overall; 0-6 MPSF/7TH


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines