follow us on...

No. 19 Top Story of 2010: Temple coach Rosen (Harriton) inducted into USL Hall of Fame

Wednesday, 29th December 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, Features, Girl's/Women's  

This is one in a series of stories recapping the Top 20 Philly lacrosse stories of 2010, Posted 12/29/10

Bonnie Rosen said it was a thrill and an honor to be one of eight inducted into the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in a ceremony November at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

Hall of Fame inductee Bonnie Rosen

“One of the things I’ve talked about in sports is that it’s always about the team,” said the fourth-year Temple coach and graduate of Harriton High. “And I’ve been very fortunate to be surrounded by great teammates.

Hall of Fame inductee Bonnie Rosen (Photos by

The induction of Rosen, a 1992 graduate of Virginia, is the No. 19 Top Story of the Year in Philly lacrosse as chosen by Also recognized are eight Philly lacrosse legends that were selected to be inducted into the Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter of the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame in February.

At Harriton, Rosen was a two-time Scholastic All-American. She then starred at Virginia where she again was an All-American and later was named to the Atlantic Coast Conference 50th Anniversary Women’s Lacrosse Team (2002).

She later had a brilliant career as a club player and was a member of the U.S. National team.

Rosen began her college coaching career as an assistant at Yale and then became the first coach at Connecticut when it launched a varsity team in 1997. She was the Big East Coach of the Year in 2000 and led the Huskies into the Top 20 by 2003. She then came home, to Temple, as head coach in 2007 and has become a staple in the Philly lacrosse community by helping build the sport at all levels.

From Left: Former Temple standout and Florida coach Mandee O’Leary, HOF Inductee Mary McCarthy DeStephano, former Temple assistant, US National coach and current Old Dominon coach Sue Stahl, Upper Dublin coach and former World Cup captain Dee Cross, Springfield-Delco assistant coach and former Temple standout Kathleen Geiger, Harriton grad and Hall of Famer Cherie Greer, 2010 Inductee Bonnie Rosen (Temple coach, Harriton grad), Sarah Nelson, Erin Millon, Jess Wilk, and former West Chester East and Maryland standout Maureen Scott Dupcak

The 2010 induction class also included former Philadelphia Club standout Mary McCarthy Stefano, Scott Bacigalupo, Michael Burnett, Harry McNamara “Mac” Ford, Eleanor Keady Gaffney, Francesca Den Hartog, and Jack Kaley.

Rosen was asked about her greatest accomplishment. Not surprisingly, she spoke about what the sport has given back to her.

“I am more grateful about my experiences than proud of my accomplishments,” she said. “I’ve had the opportunity to play on championship teams, and it was so flattering to be inducted as a player Saturday night.

“Playing feeds the soul, but I would rather be recognized for what I can do for others in the game.”

Rosen said her greatest joy has perhaps been the opportunity to come home to Philadelphia and accept the challenge of trying to rebuild Temple – once the top program in Division I lacrosse – to national prominence. But winning games is only one of Rosen’s goals.

She has made community service a major part of the Temple program and become a major player in the growth of youth and scholastic lacrosse in the city by working with the Public League and Tina Sloan Green, the former Temple great and co-founder of the Black Women in Sport Foundation.

Rosen’s players have helped her run many clinics in the city with youths who are being introduced to the sport often for the first time. Temple also has gained notoriety for adopting a little sister through the Friends of Jaclyn Foundation.

“Temple is really the most interesting and fascinating place to work,” Rosen said. “As a place to coach, it’s a program with a tremendous history of success. I want to bring this program back to where it can compete for a national championship.”


Eight legends of Philadelphia lacrosse were chosen to be inducted into the Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter of the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame at a banquet on Feb. 5 at Whitemarsh Valley Country Club.

Michael Busza (inducted as a player), Brian Dougherty (player), Robert “Buzz” Lynn and John Nostrant (coach) are the mens/boys’ honorees while Lee Allen Krug (coach), Gail Cummings-Danson (player), Lynn Anderson (service) and Joan W. Salmon (official/service) will be the girls’/women’s honorees.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines