follow us on...

No. 12 Top Philly Lacrosse Story of 2009: Philly 1 defeated Baltimore to claim title at National tourney

Thursday, 7th January 2010

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School  

Editor’s note: This is one of many articles is re-posting as it restores content as a result of its redesign this spring

This is part of a continuing series counting down the top Philly lacrosse stories of 2009, Posted 1/7/10

It was a shining moment for Philadelphia girls’ lacrosse.

On the grand stage at the elite schoolgirls division of the US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament in late May, the Philly 1 team rallied for a dramatic 8-7 victory over Baltimore Metro to claim the crown.

Philly 1, coached by Dee Cross (Upper Dublin) and Lorraine Beers (Archbishop Carroll), went 5-0-1 in the tourney at Bel Air, Mad. Taylor Trimble, an Episcopal Academy sophomore, was named the prestigious Heather Albert Award for the Most Outstanding Player of the tournament. The award is given for performance and spirit.

Trimble scored two goals to spark a comeback in the title game after Philly 1 trailed, 4-1. Trimble’s teammate at EA, junior Avery Curley, scored the final goal of the first half to give Philly a 6-5 lead and EA sophomore Blake McHugh’s second goal made the lead 7-5.

Baltimore closed to within one twice more, but Philly held the ball for the final three minutes to run out the clock.

Trimble noted that – despite having no practices – the girls jelled quickly.

“Honestly, I think it (the championship) happened because a lot of us had known each other before,” she said. “We played against each other and played with each other and, in general, we were really good friends.

“The team chemistry, more than individual talent, made the most difference. We almost forgot where we were and just had fun playing the game. We all came together and celebrated the game.”

Trimble said the team went to the Baltimore area and got to watch the thrilling, double-overtime NCAA semifinal game between eventual champion Northwestern and Penn. They fields in Bel Air were not far from the site of the NCAA playoffs at Towson’s Johnny Unitas Stadium.

Philly 1 had tied Baltimore Metro, 10-10, the first time they met earlier in the two-day tourney. Also receiving mention as finalists for the Heather Albert Award from the Philly 1 team were junior Lauren Purvis (Hatboro-Horsham) and sophomore Sloan Warren (Baldwin School).

By virtue of the championship, the Philly 1 was awarded the Valerie Walchak Trophy. This award is named for the former Haverford High coach who has been a major proponent of girls’ lacrosse at the national level for many years and petitioned the USWLA Board of Directors to establish a Schoolgirl Division at the USWLA National Tournament. A West Chester University graduate, Walchak has played, coached, officiated and managed Philadelphia club teams and associations for many years.

The Philly 1 team last won the crown in 1994, the first year the tournament was held.

Also during the tourney, Philly 2 came in fourth in its division, Philly 3 won its division, and Philly 4 came in third in its division. Lastly, the Philly Senior team lost in the finals.

Philly 1 scores
Philly 1 15, DC Metro (2) 3
Philly 1 14, Western New York (1) 5
Philly 1 14, Eastern Lower New England 6
Philly 1 10, Baltimore Metro (1) 10
Semifinals: Philly 1 13, DC Metro ( 1) 8
Championship: Philly 1 8, Baltimore Metro (1) 7

Philly 1 Roster
Shannon Burns, Jr., Springfield-Delco
Courtney Campbell, Jr., Radnor
Margaret Corzel, Jr., Merion Mercy
Amy Cross, Jr., Upper Dublin
Avery Curley, Jr., Episcopal Academy
Kelly Devlin, Soph., Downingtown East
Alyssa DiBona, Soph., Archbishop Carroll
Alyssa Dunlap, Jr., Radnor
Kelyn Freedman, Jr., Radnor
Aimee Gennaro, Jr., Archbishop Carroll
Melissa Lloyd, Jr., Unionville
Kim McCormick, Jr., Springfield-Delco
Blake McHugh, Soph., Episcopal Acdemy
Kasey Mock, Jr., Pottstown
Allison Murray, Soph., Downingtown East
Amanda Norcini, Jr., Conestoga
Lauren Purvis, Jr., Hatboro-Horsham
Lindsey Smith, Jr., Unionville
Taylor Trimble, Soph., Episcopal Academy
Sloan Warren Soph., Baldwin School

Coaches: Lorraine Beers (Archbishop Carroll), Dee Cross (Upper Dublin)


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines