follow us on...

New interactive polls give readers the chance to state their opinion

Wednesday, 3rd March 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Features, Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 3/3/10 wishes to thank its readers for logging onto our new and improved website.

Just two days ago we launched our redesign, full of new features and interactive ways to share in the excitement of the fastest growing sport in the Philadelphia area and beyond.

One of our new and exciting features is our interactive poll. Currently, on the home page, our poll is asking which Philly men’s lacrosse team is the best in the city. Villanova, an NCAA Division I playoff team last year, was slightly ahead of Delaware and Drexel with nearly 100 votes in this evening. Also in the running are Penn, Lehigh and St. Joseph’s. Feel free to pick your team of choice and check out the standings.

On the girls’ home page, the question is, “Who was the best high school player of the decade?” The leader as of tonight was Baldwin School’s Emma Hamm (now at Duke), slightly ahead of Strath Haven’s Emily Garrity (a freshman at North Carolina). Also in the running are Germantown Academy’s Colleen Magarity (Northwestern), Conestoga’s Sara Giedgowd (senior at Duke), Radnor’s Jessi Lieb (Penn State graduate) and Archbishop Carroll’s Kate Filippelli (graduate of Loyola).

On the boys’ home page, Lower Merion’s John Christmas (Virginia, current member of Philadelphia Wings) has a slight edge over Haverford School’s Kyle Barrie (Johns Hopkins graduate). Also in the poll are La Salle’s Tucker Durkin (freshman at Johns Hopkins) and Niko Amato (freshman at Maryland), Malvern Prep’s Matt Mackrides (sophomore at Penn State) and Ridley’s Bill McGlone (graduate of Maryland).

Each week, the polls will change. Our next scholastic polls will ask the readers who were the top boys’ and girls’ scholastic teams of the decade. Also, the home page poll will address which team the readers think will win the NCAA women’s Division I crown.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines