follow us on...

Major League Lacrosse to have fans choose 10-year anniversary team; Philly’s Dougherty, Sweeney on list

Saturday, 19th June 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 6/19/10

Major League Lacrosse (MLL) is celebrating its 10th anniversary season this summer by recognizing the greatest players of the past decade and announcing the Ten Year Anniversary Team. The team will be decided based on a fan votes available on the league’s official website,

Fans can vote from now until August 9 at 5:00 pm ET and are encouraged to vote for players in each position.

Out of the 643 players who have been part of the MLL over the past decade, the 40 finalists were selected by a diverse group of experts who have been involved with the league since inception. Two of the finalists are Philly’s own Brian Dougherty (goaltender/Episcopal Academy/former of now-defunct Philadelphia Barrage) and Kyle Sweeney (defenseman/Springfield-Delco/Barrage/Philadelphia Wings) – both of whom are members of the US National team that will play next month in the FIL World Lacrosse Championships in Manchester, England.

“We’re thrilled that our fans will be able to honor the absolute best players from our first decade of league play,” said MLL Commissioner David Gross. “I know that the panel had an incredibly difficult time just narrowing the list down to the forty finalists, so we are very excited to see who the fans choose as the very best of the best.”

The MLL Ten Year Anniversary Team will be honored and revealed at the 2010 MLL Championship Weekend presented by Warrior on August 21 and 22 in Annapolis, MD. Ticket for all three games during the MLL Championship Weekend are $30 and can be purchased by clicking here or by calling 866-MLLTIXX.

The finalists are separated by position, and include five goaltenders and faceoff specialists, and ten players each from defense, midfield, and attack. The elected team will have eleven players, with the positions broken down this way: 1 goaltender, 3 defenders, 3 midfielders, and 3 attackmen, and 1 faceoff specialist.

This is the complete list of players available on the ballot:


Brian Dougherty (Episcopal Academy, formerly of now-defunct Philadelphia Barrage)
Greg Cattrano (Philadelphia Barrage)
Chris Garrity
Trevor Tierney
Tillman Johnson

Faceoff Specialists:

Paul Cantabene
Chris Cercy
Alex Smith (University of Delaware)
Geoff Snider
Andy Corno


Brodie Merrill
Nicky Polanco
Ryan Curtis
John Gagliardi
Kyle Sweeney (Springfield-Delco, Philadelphia Barrage)
Brian Spallina (Philadelphia Barrage)
Pat McCabe
Lee Zink
Eric Martin
Chris Passavia


Casey Powell
Jay Jalbert
Roy Colsey (Philadelphia Barrage)
Matt Striebel (Philadelphia Barrage)
Gary Gait
Jeff Sonke
Blake Miller
Brian Langtry
Josh Sims
AJ Haugen


John Grant Jr.
Jesse Hubbard
Mark Millon
Ryan Boyle (Philadelphia Barrage)
Ryan Powell
Conor Gill
Kevin Leveille
Tom Marachek
Scott Urick
Tim Goettelman


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines