follow us on...

La Salle’s Leahy to be first lacrosse coach inducted into Montco Coaches Hall of Fame

Saturday, 21st August 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, Features, High School, Posted 8/21/10

La Salle College High lacrosse coach Bill Leahy will be inducted into the Montgomery County Coaches Hall of Fame at the ninth annual induction banquet on Nov. 23 at Westover Country Club in Jeffersonville.

Leahy, who has guided the Explorers to three state championships in his 19-year career, will be joined as an inductee by former St. Pius X boys’ basketball coach Tom McGee and football coaches Joe Iacovitti (Plymouth Whitemarsh), Roger Grove (Norristown) and George Marimkov (Methacton).

Leahy is the first lacrosse coach – male or female – to enter the Coaches Hall of Fame. He has put together a staggering 346-65 record in his 19 years. During that time La Salle has won state championships in 2004, 2008 and 2009 (first year of the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association-sanctioned tournament).

His teams also have reached the state final three other times, including the latest appearance in 2010. Equally impressive has been La Salle’s dominance of the Philadelphia Catholic League under Leahy. His teams have won 16 Catholic League Championships and own a 233-3 record.

Leahy played lacrosse in college and professionally for the Philadelphia Wings before becoming a full-time coach. He was recognized by the Philadelphia Inquirer as Coach of the Year in 1997 and 2004.

Tickets are priced at $60, with an early-bird discount (purchase by October 15) of $55 and $440 for a table of eight. Tickets can be purchased from any advisory board member or by calling 610-279-9220.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines