follow us on...

Gettysburg veteran mentor Cantele (Nether Providence) earns Coach of Year honor

Tuesday, 21st December 2010

Categories College, Features, Girl's/Women's, Posted 12/21/10
From Press Releases and Staff Reports

Gettysburg College women’s lacrosse coach Carol Cantele (Nether Providence alum) has been named the Division III Coach of the Year by FieldTurf in its 5th annual Lacrosse Awards.

Gettysburg coach Carol Cantele, a Nether Providence (now Strath Haven) alum, has been named the FieldTurf D3 Women's Coach of the Year after leading her Bullets to a regional crown in 2010

Award-winners were named in seven categories, including six college coach of the year winners and one team of the year winner.
This year’s winners are:

NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Men’s Lacrosse) – Dom Starsia, University of Virginia

NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Women’s Lacrosse) – Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern University

NCAA Division 2 Coach of the Year (Men’s Lacrosse) – Dan Sheehan, Le Moyne College

NCAA Division 2 Coach of the Year (Women’s Lacrosse) – Meghan McNamara, C.W. Post Long Island University

NCAA Division 3 Coach of the Year (Men’s Lacrosse) – Jim Berkman, Salisbury University

NCAA Division 3 Coach of the Year (Women’s Lacrosse) – Carol Cantele, Gettysburg College

NCAA Team of the Year – University of Maryland (women’s)

CAROL CANTELE (Gettysburg College/Nether Providence, now Strath Haven) – After guiding the Bullets to an 18-4 overall record, a 9-0 regular season record in the Centennial Conference, and the program’s ninth consecutive appearance in the NCAA Division III Tournament, Gettysburg captured its fourth regional title in five seasons and advanced to the national semifinals before falling to eventual champion Salisbury University.

Cantele has coached at Gettysburg for 18 seasons. She is Gettysburg’s all-time leader in victories, compiling a career record of 248-84 (.747), and she ranks eighth all-time among NCAA coaches (all divisions) in career victories with a record of 272-107 (.718) over 22 seasons. Cantele, who is fifth among active NCAA Division III head coaches in wins, has guided the Bullets to a conference record six Centennial Conference championships (2000, 2002-06), 10 appearances in the NCAA Division III playoffs (2000, 2002-10), and 14 straight winning seasons. Cantele has coached 29 Bullets to Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All-America recognition, including four national players of the year.

DOM STARSIA (University of Virginia): In 2010, Starsia’s team was one of the most prolific in Virginia history, holding down the No. 1 spot in the polls most of the season and capturing the ACC title as victors of the league’s regular season and tournament crowns. UVa’s 16 wins in 2010 stand only behind the 2006 NCAA title team’s 17 triumphs. Balanced across the board, UVa ranked No. 1 in the nation in scoring margin (5.22), winning percentage (.889) and ground balls (37.17) – No. 3 in the nation in offense (13.44), assists (8.17) and points (21.61) – No. 6 in defense (8.22). Eight members of the 2010 edition of the Cavaliers were named All-Americans.

KELLY AMONTE HILLER (Northwestern University) – A repeat winner from the 2006, 2008, and 2009 FieldTurf awards, the name Kelly Amonte Hiller has become synonymous with excellence in the world of college lacrosse and also with this award. What Kelly Amonte Hiller has accomplished at Northwestern would be a solid resume for any coach: Five consecutive NCAA national championships, seven American Lacrosse Conference titles and an .855 winning percentage in addition to coaching two Tewaaraton Trophy winners and over two dozen All-Americans.

DAN SHEEHAN (Le Moyne College) – Dan Sheehan, the only coach at Le Moyne College to lead his team to a national championship, has served as a head coach for well over a decade. He is one of the most winningest coaches in NCAA Division II history. The Dolphins lost a heartbreaker to the #1 ranked C.W. Post Pioneers in the 2010 NCAA Championship game in Baltimore. Le Moyne (15-2) was appearing in the Championship game for the fifth consecutive season.

MEGHAN MCNAMARA (C.W. Post Long Island University) – Despite a 14-9 loss to the eventual champions, Adelphi University, in the semi-finals, C.W. Post had another outstanding season. The Pioneers handed Adelphi their only loss of the regular season, a 21-16 defeat on May 1. Meghan McNamara is a staple of success in the lacrosse coaching ranks and well deserving of this year’s award.

JIM BERKMAN (Salisbury University) – Coach Jim Berkman is the all-time winningest coach in NCAA men’s lacrosse history as he begins his 23rd season at the helm for eight-time national champion Salisbury University. In 2010, Salisbury advanced to the national championship game for the 12th time in program history. The Sea Gulls had eight players garner All-American honors. Jim Berkman is a repeat winner of this award, having won back to back in 2006 and 2007.

UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND (Women’s) – With a great coach and a great program for developing players, it is no surprise that the women’s Maryland Terrapins are a championship team in 2010. Former Maryland standout Cathy Reese enters her fourth season at the helm of the Terrapins’ women’s lacrosse program after revitalizing a team hungry to return to the national forefront. The University of Maryland women’s lacrosse team topped Northwestern in thrilling fashion in the women’s national championship game, overcoming a 6-0 deficit early in the game to beat the Wildcats, ending their five-year stranglehold on the championship.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines