follow us on...

Eleven Philly players, two coaches to participate in 2010 Champion High School Showcase in Florida

Tuesday, 22nd June 2010

Categories Boy's/Men's, Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 6/22/10

Nearly 200 of the nation’s top boys’ and girls’ scholastic senior lacrosse players – including nine Philly girls and two Philly boys – have been selected by US Lacrosse to compete in the 2010 Champion® High School Showcase.

The showcase events will be held as part of the ESPN RISE Games Presented by Target from July 17-22 at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

The Philly players selected include: Radnor’s Courtney Campbell, Kelyn Freedman and Allie Martin, Unionville’s Melissa Lloyd, Upper Dublin’s Amy Cross, Merion Mercy’s Margaret Corzel, Hatboro-Horsham’s Lauren Purvis, Springfield-Delco’s Shannon Burns and Lawrenceville School’s Camille Richardson (of Berwyn).

Campbell (attack) and Martin (midfield) are on Team Freedom; Lloyd (goalie), Corzel (midfield) and Richardson (midfield) are on Tam Spirit; Freedman (defender) and Cross (midfield) are on Team Liberty; while Burns (midfield) and Purvis (midfield) are on Team Pride.

All players selected had to be US Lacrosse All-Americans as juniors.
The Philly boys’ players include Tatnall (DE) School midfielder Jackson Keeler (Landenberg, PA/signed with Delaware) and Salesianum (DE) School defenseman Mark Cyron (Lincoln University/Merrimack).

Players were selected through the US Lacrosse Men’s and Women’s Division Coaches Councils and the vast majority of players have earned US Lacrosse All-America honors during their high school playing careers.

The girls’ event features an opening ceremony on Saturday, July 17 with the game competition beginning on Sunday, July 18. Eighty players from 19 states have been selected to four teams that will compete in three pool play games before a championship game on Monday, July 19. The girls’ consolation games and championship game will be available on the web at

The girls’ coaches include Philly’s Dee Cross (Upper Dublin) and Wendy Landry (Unionville). Others are Bruce Barker (Regis Jesuit, Colo.), Erin Carroll (Thayer Academy, Mass.), Pete Collins (New Trier High School, Ill.), Kathryn Davis (John Carroll, Ala.), Mary Hopkins (West Orange High School, Fla.) and Jenifer Kish (Emma Willard School, N.Y.).

The boys’ event also features a four-team round robin pool to be followed by championship play on July 22. The boys’ championship game is slated to appear on ESPNU. Ninety-six players representing 29 states have been selected for the showcase.

The boys’ coaches are: Jack Beaney (Bloomfield-Honeoye High School, N.Y.), John Calabria (Syosset High School, N.Y.), Nick Caruso (Jackson Memorial High School, N.J.), Steve Falconer (Northbridge High School, Mass.), Mark Howard (Arrowhead High School, Wis.), Lane Jaffe (Palos Verde High School, Calif.), Jeff Ransom (Sidwell Friends School, D.C.) and Chris Spaulding (Lake Highland Prep, Fla.).


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines