follow us on...

Ohio State’s Green (CB East) named to preseason all-conference team

Saturday, 10th January 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 1/10/09
From Press Releases

Ohio State junior midfielder James Green (Central Bucks East) has been named to the Great Western Lacrosse League (GWLL) preseason All-Conference team.

Green, a key player on Team USA’s drive to the Under-19 International World Championship last summer, had 22 goals and 11 assists last year and was a second-team All-Conference pick in 2008.

Notre Dame has been picked to win the 2009 title according to a preseason poll done by the conference’s head coaches. The Irish were tri-champions of the league’s regular season in 2008 before winning the inaugural GWLL tournament.

The poll, published in Face-Off Yearbook, had Denver in the No. 2 slot followed by Ohio State. Air Force, Bellarmine and Quinnipiac round out the poll, respectively. The GWLL enjoyed unprecedented success last season as three teams qualified for the NCAA Championship for the first time ever. Notre Dame, Ohio State and Denver all were among the 16-team NCAA field.

The Irish and Buckeyes both advanced to the quarterfinals, making it the first time the league ever had two teams among the final eight. Notre Dame features several key players from Philly.

Senior attacker Duncan Sweezey (Hatboro-Horsham) had 22 goals and 17 assists last year. Junior midfielder Adam Felicetti (Central Bucks East) should be a regular this year and junior defender Mike Creighton (Malvern Prep) will be a mainstay (26 GB) while sophomore Tim Bernier (Malvern Prep) is a key backup on defense.

At Ohio State, sophomore defenders Dillon Sheehy (Downingtown East) and Packy Campbell (Conestoga), sophomore attacker Scott Gerland (Radnor) and freshman middie Eddie Bambino (Penn Charter) will be vying for time. Quinnipiac features sophomore attacker Jack Oppenheimer (Germantown Academy),w ho had five goals last year.

GWLL Preseason All-Conference

A – Joel Dalgarno, Sr., Ohio State A – Ryan Hoff, Sr., Notre Dame A – Jamie Lincoln, Soph., Denver M – James Green, Jr., Ohio State M – Joey Murray, Sr., Denver M – Griffin Nevitt, Sr., Air Force F/O – Bobby Snider, Sr., Bellarmine SSDM – Kyle Widerstedt, Sr., Denver LSM – Dan Gnazzo, Sr., Air Force D – Scott Matthews, Sr., Ohio State D – Regis McDermott, Jr., Notre Dame D – Dillon Roy, Jr., Denver G – Kevin Benzing, Jr., Quinnipiac



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines