follow us on...

Many Philly women in DI, DII and DIII honored for academics by IWLCA

Friday, 4th September 2009

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 9/4/09

The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association has recognized 407 student-athletes at 152 institutions for their excellence in the classroom during the 2008-09 academic year. All student-athletes were nominated by their institutions and have attained at least junior standing academically.

Nominees considered had a GPA of at least 3.5 or were in the top 10 percent of their squad. Included in the list of honorees are the IWLCA Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Anna Ford from Elizabethtown College, Julie Kraus from Southern New Hampshire University, and Kristin Schwab from Princeton University.

The following is a list of the Philadelphia-area honorees, their class, and their majors (minors).

Division I

Duke University

Sara Giedgowd (Conestoga), Jr., Sociology (Markets & Management)

Christie Barnes (Radnor), Jr., Cultural Anthropology & Anatomy (Asian Studies)

Hofstra University

Courtney O’Connor (Abington), Jr., Management

La Salle University

Jillian Davis (Ridley), Jr., Education

Elizabeth Iacullo, Jr., Art

Lafayette College

Kristin Ruminski (Boyertown), Sr., Business & Economics (Math)

Long Island University

Christie Wienckowski (Marple Newtown), Sr., Marketing

Monmouth University

Monica Johnson (Archbishop Carroll), Sr., Communication

Megan Brennan (Archbishop Carroll), Jr., Communication

Kelly Bosco, Jr., Business

University of Pennsylvania

Hannah Rudloff (West Chester East), Sr., Communications/Anthropology

Emma Spiro, Jr., Economics

Bethany Warren, Jr., Heath & Societies (Organizations & Environmental Management)

Saint Joseph’s University

Jessica Westlake, Sr., Finance (Spanish)

Abby Renninger (Conestoga), Sr., Food Marketing

Stanford University

Elizabeth Siegfried (Agnes Irwin), Sr., Communication (Sociology)

Temple University

Brittney Hoffman, Sr., Elementary Education

Chelsea Rosiek (Wissahickon), Jr., English

Villanova University

Justine Feinman, Sr., Finance/Marketing (Spanish)

Sarah Berger (Hill School), Jr., Nursing

Division II

Bloomsburg University

Samantha Alexander (Upper Moreland), Sr., Elementary Education /Special Education

Cara McGroarty (Pottsgrove), Sr., Business Adminstration/Accounting

Kelsey Quigley (Methacton), Sr., Business Education (Business, Information Systems)


Alexandria Slinkard (Pottsgrove), Jr., Exercise Science

Millersville University

Lindsay Toriello (Upper Darby), Jr., Elementary Education/Special Education

Shippensburg University

Kelsey Browning (Pottsgrove), Sr., Marketing

West Chester University

Gina DiDomenicis, Sr., Communications

Jennifer Forney, Sr., Health & Physcal Education

Mary Beth Green (Henderson), Sr., History

Kimberlee Hachen (North Penn), Sr., Health & Physical Education

Jenny Ingram (Wissahickon), Jr., Elementary Education

Gabrielle Stitz (Hatboro-Horsham), Jr., History

Lauren Tatios (West Chester East), Jr., English

Division III

Bryn Mawr College

Evan Schneider, Jr., Physics/Mathematics

Katherine Kellom, Sr., Psychology

Eastern University

Jessie Basch, Sr., History/Secondary Education

Courtney Brennan, Sr., Biokinetics

Katie Choquette, Sr., Biology

Erin Fries, Sr., Math, Secondary Education

Susie Gibble, Sr., Accounting/Finance

Erin Reimel, Sr., Accounting/Finance, Spanish

Elizabethtown College

Kelsea Kozak (Sun Valley), Sr., Elementary Education

Dana Simmons (Plymouth Whitemarsh), Sr., International Business

Messiah College

Jackie Dando (Henderson), Sr., Communications

Neumann University

Rachael DiCicco, Sr., Education

Gabriela D’Ambrosio, Sr., Education

Swarthmore College

Marissa Schaffer, Sr., Political Science

Hannah Jaicks, Sr., Biology/Psychology

Annie Carter, Sr., Math/Music

Ursinus College

Amy Sezack, Jr., Business and Economics

Elizabeth Cannon, Jr., Social Ecology

Jenna Werley (Springfield-Delco), Sr., English

Washington and Lee University

Kelsi Robinson (Westtown School), Sr., Psychology/Spanish



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines