follow us on...

Loyola’s Layne (Malvern Prep), Ohio State’s Green (CB East) are ECAC Preseason All-League picks

Wednesday, 9th December 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 12/9/09
From Press Releases

In a vote by league coaches, the Loyola University Greyhounds – featuring preseason All-League pick Steve Layne (Malvern Prep) – have been chosen as the favorites to capture the 2010 ECAC Lacrosse League title. This is the first time the Greyhounds have been tabbed the preseason favorite after a 10-year run by Georgetown.

Loyola, the 2008 and 2009 ECAC Lacrosse League champions, tallied 47 possible points including six first place votes. Newcomer Denver is highly respected by the league coaches, garnering 41 points and one first place vote. The Pioneers edged out Ohio State for second place. Finishing off the top three are the Ohio State Buckeyes with 40 points and one first place vote.

The Stags of Fairfield were ranked fourth in the poll with 29 points. Hobart received 27 points and was picked to finish fifth, while Air Force was tabbed for sixth place. Quinnipiac and Bellarmine rounded out the bottom quarter of the poll.

Layne, a defenseman, is joined on the Preseason All-ECAC Team by Ohio State senior midfielder James Green (Central Bucks East).

2010 ECAC Lacrosse Preseason Poll

1.  Loyola (6)        47

2.  Denver (1)        41

3.  Ohio State (1)    40

4.  Fairfield         29

5.  Hobart            27

6.  Air Force         20

7.  Quinnipiac        12

8.  Bellarmine         8

2010 Preseason All-ECAC Team

A    Mark Matthews, Denver             So.

A    Cooper MacDonnell, Loyola *#      Sr.

A    Mario Ventiquattro, Ohio State    Sr.

M    Charley Dickenson, Denver         Sr.

M    Tyler Cassell, Hobart *           Sr.

M    James Green (Central Bucks East), Ohio State           Sr.

D    Dayton Gilbreath, Air Force       So.

D    Dillon Roy, Denver                Sr.

D    Steve Layne (Malvern Prep), Loyola *             Sr.

D    Matt Kawamoto, Ohio State         Jr.

Sp.  Bryan Gilbreath, Air Force (LSM)  Jr.

G    Max Silberlicht, Hobart           Sr.

* 2009 All-ECAC

# 2008 All-ECAC

Offensive Player of the Year

Cooper MacDonnell, Loyola              Sr.

Defensive Player of the Year

Dillon Roy, Denver                     Sr.

Rookie of the Year

Chase Carraro, Denver                  Fr.

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines