follow us on...

IWLCA re-releases All-Region picks for 2009; 18 Philly women are honored

Saturday, 15th August 2009

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 8/15/09

The Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) has re-released the list of 134 student-athletes in Division I that were selected on the All-Regional teams for 2009.

The list features 18 players with Philly ties, including 12 from the Mid-Atlantic Region.

The Mid-Atlantic list includes three first-teamers from National semifinalist Penn; junior midfielders Ali DeLuca and Emma Spiro and junior attack Courtney Lubbe (Council Rock North). Also, senior attack Becca Edwards (Springfield-Montco) earned second-team honors for Penn.

St. Joseph’s had one player make the first team and three make the second team. Junior attack Jenna Martino was a first-team pick while senior defender Abby Renninger (Conestoga), senior goalie Suzy Herlihy and junior midfielder Helen Tursi earned second-team distinction for the Hawks.

Also making first-team Mid-Atlantic selection were Princeton seniors Marie McKenna (Penn Charter, defense) and Holly McGarvie (coach for Philly-based Ultimate Goal, midfield) and Loyola sophomore defender Cara Filippelli (Archbishop Carroll). The second team featured Drexel junior midfielder Katie Lawson.

For the West/Midwest Region, Ohio State junior midfielder Kelly Haggerty (Unonville) was a first-team pick while Stanford junior midfielder Julie Christy (Conestoga), Louisville sophomore attack Bergan Foley (Gwynedd Mercy Academy) and Penn State junior goalie Stephanie Ellis (Radnor) made the second team.

For the Northeast Region, Yale senior midfielder Jenn Warden (Edgemont, PA, Lawrenceville School) was a second-team pick. Old Dominion freshman goalie Sarah Geary (Springfield-Delco) was a second-team pick for the South Region.

Due to inconsistencies in the nominations, some candidates from Loyola and Northwestern  were initially disqualified from consideration.

The IWLCA seeks both to recognize athletic excellence and to promote clarity and fairness in the process of selecting All-Americans.  As such, the IWLCA has reconsidered the nominations from Northwestern and Loyola and has named the following as All-Regional honorees.

The IWLCA congratulates all of these student-athletes for their outstanding achievement.

IWLCA All-Region, 2009

Mid-Atlantic Region

First team

Brooke Cantwell, Rutgers, Jr., A

Ali DeLuca, Penn, Jr., M

Lauren Dykstra, Lehigh, So., M

Cara Filippelli (Archbishop Carroll), Loyola, So, D

Corrine Gandolfi, Hofstra, Jr., M

Grace Gavin, Loyola, So., M

Holly Glynn, Columbia, Sr., A

Angela Hughes, Johns Hopkins, Jr., D

Courtney Lubbe (ouncil Rock North), Penn, Jr., A

Nikki Marcinik, Towson, Jr., M

Jenna Martino, Saint Joseph’s, Jr., A

Holly McGarvie (Coach, Ultimate Goal), Princeton, Sr., M

Marie McKenna (Penn Charter), Princeton, Sr., D

Meggie McNamara, Towson, Sr., A

Julie Ondrako, Towson, Sr., D

Kristin Schwab, Princeton, Sr., M

Emma Spiro, Penn, Jr., M

Erin Tochihara, Princeton, So., GK

Second Team

Bonnie Buechel, Bucknell, Sr., M

Katelyn Catanese, Mount St. Mary’s, Sr., A

Jessica Cerveny, Delaware, Sr., GK

Katie Cox, Princeton, Sr., D

Kara Dorr, UMBC, Sr., M

Lizzy Drumm, Princeton, So., A

Becca Edwards (Springfield-Montco), Penn, Sr., A

Suzy Herlihy, Saint Joseph’s, Sr., GK

Katie Lawson, Drexel, Jr., M

Colleen O’Keefe, Loyola, Sr., A

Emily Penn, Rutgers, Jr., D

Abby Rehfuss, Loyola, So., M

Abby Renninger (Conestoga), Saint Joseph’s, Sr., D

Alysse Ruszkowski, Hofstra, Sr., D

Rachael Ryan, Columbia, Sr., M

Helene Tursi, Saint Joseph’s, Jr., M

Erin Zimmerman, Delaware, Sr., D

Northeast Region

First team

Kat Collins, Dartmouth, So., A

McKinley Curro, Boston University, Jr., A

Sarah Dalton, Boston University, Sr., M

Christina Dove, Syracuse, Jr., M

Jessica Halpern, Harvard, So., M

Liz Hogan, Syracuse, So., G

Kristin Igoe, Boston College, So., M

Kristen Millar, Vermont, Sr., M

Katie Monaghan, Boston College, Sr., G

Kelly Munroe, Boston University, Sr., D

Tissy O’Connor, Cornell, Jr., D

Halley Quillinan, Syracuse, Jr., A

Katie Rowan, Syracuse, Sr., A

Margot Spatola, Boston College, Sr., D

Beth Stankus, New Hampshire, Sr., D

Sarah Von Bargen, New Hampshire, Sr., A

Second team

Erica Baumgartner, Boston University, Jr., A

Kayla Best, Albany, Sr., M

Nikki Branchini, Albany, So., D

Colleen Bubnack, Colgate, So., M

Kristen Coleman, Fairfield, So., M

Emily Hannigan, Boston College, Sr., D

Libby Johnson, Cornell, So., A

Shauna Kaplan, New Hampshire, Jr., A

Maddie Kearns, Colgate, Sr., D

Traci Landy, Boston University, Jr., M

Jesse Nunn, Brown, Sr., A

Colleen Olsen, Dartmouth, Jr., D

Whitney Quackenbush, Yale, Fr., G

Lindsay Rogers, Syracuse, Jr., D

Jenn Warden (Edgemont, PA), Yale, Sr., M

Rebecca White, Fairfield, Sr., M

South Region

First team

Sarah Bullard, Duke, So., M

Caroline Cryer, Duke, Sr., A

Carolyn Davis, Duke, Sr., M

Kaitlin Duff, Virginia, Jr. M

Amber Falcone, North Carolina, Sr, D

Karri Ellen Johnson, Maryland, Fr., A

Sarah Jonson, William & Mary, So., D

Brandi Jones, Maryland, So., M

Ashby Kaestner, Georgetown, Jr., M

Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland, Jr., M

Sarah Mollison, Maryland, So., A

Bridget Noon, Georgetown, Jr., D

Logan Ripley, North Carolina, Jr., GK

Jenn Russell, North Carolina, Jr., M

Karissa Taylor, Maryland, Jr., D

Blair Weymouth, Virginia, Sr., A

Second team

Megan Bosica, North Carolina, Jr., M

Liz Downs, Virginia, So., D

Molly Ford, Georgetown, Jr., A

Allison Furstenburg, Richmond, Sr., A

Sarah Geary (Springfield-Delco), Old Dominion, Fr., GK

Lindsay Gilbride, Duke, Jr., M

Grace Golden, William & Mary, So., M

Jenny Hauser, Virginia, Jr., A

Ashley Holofcener, William & Mary, So., A

Danielle Kachulis, Duke, Jr., D

Brittany Kalkstein, Virginia, Jr., M

Kelly Kimener, Old Dominion, Sr., M

Jordy Kirr, Georgetown, So., A

Ashley McCulloch, Virginia, Sr., A

Laura Merrifield, Maryland, So., M

Jordan Trautman, Georgetown, Sr., D

West/Midwest Region

First team

Shaylyn Blaney, Notre Dame, So., M

Ashley Boccio, Penn State, So., D

Hilary Bowen, Northwestern, Sr., A

Shannon Burke, Notre Dame, Sr., D

Alicia Burkhart, Oregon, Sr., M

Jillian Byers, Notre Dame, Sr., A

Katrina Dowd, Northwestern, Jr., A

Sarah Downing, Vanderbilt, Jr., A

Meredith Frank, Northwestern, Sr., M

Cara Giordano, Vanderbilt, Sr., M

Kelly Haggerty (Unionville), Ohio State, Jr., A

Morgan Lathrop, Northwestern, Sr., GK

Alex Mundy, Vanderbilt, Jr., D

Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern, Sr., A

Maris Perlman, Stanford, Sr., D

Lauren Schmidt, Stanford, Jr., M

Gina Scioscia, Notre Dame, Jr., A

Kerry Shea, Penn State, Sr., M

Danielle Spencer, Northwestern, Jr., A

Second team

Ally Carey, Vanderbilt, Fr., M

Julie Christy (Conestoga), Stanford, Jr., M

Stephanie Ellis (Radnor), Penn State, Jr., GK

Ali Flury, Denver, Jr., M

Bergan Foley (Gwynedd Mercy Academy), Louisville, So., A

Meghan Frederick, Duquesne, Jr., A

Rachel Guerrera, Notre Dame, Jr., D

Kendall Gysin, Ohio State, Sr., D

Denna Faye Herald, California, Jr., D

Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State, Fr., A

Karen Morton, Denver, Sr., M

Anna Poponyak, Oregon, Sr., GK

Sam Price, California, Sr., A

Laura Simanski, Cincinnati, Fr., A

Alex Tickner, California, Jr., M

Ashley Wood, Duquesne, Sr., M



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines