follow us on...

Four Philly women make final cut for US World Cup team

Monday, 2nd February 2009

Categories Girl's/Women's, Posted 2/2/09

Four women from Philadelphia have been listed on the 18-woman roster selected by the coaching staff to compete for the United States in the 2009 Federation of International Lacrosse World Cup from June 17-27 in the Czech Republic, US Lacrosse announced today.

The team was selected following the Champion® Challege event in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., this past weekend.

The four Philly women include midfielders Michi Ellers-Salcedo (Georgetown, Strath Haven), Whitney Douthett (Dartmouth, Newtown, Peddie School, NJ) and Michele DeJuliis (Penn State, owner of Ultimate Goal Lacrosse Club) and defender Regina Oliver (Ohio State, Pottstown).

Selected as alternates are Nikki Lieb (Virginia, Radnor) and younger sister Jessi Lieb (Penn State, Radnor).

None of the 18 players selected were on the final U.S. roster for the 2005 World Cup, when the Americans fell to Australia in the championship game in Annapolis, Md. The most experienced international players are Katie Chrest, Michele DeJuliis and Acacia Walker, who were all alternates for the 2005 World Cup. Six current collegiate players were named to the team.

The U.S. training team won all five of its games in Florida, including coming from two goals down in the second half to beat Japan 17-11. The U.S. team will be in action again this weekend for the South of the Border tournament in North Carolina, an event highlighted by games against England and Wales.

Ellers-Salcedo was named Outstanding Player of the Event.

“We congratulate Michi Ellers-Salcedo on winning this award,” said Claire Edgar, Director Champion Brand Marketing. “Michi truly displayed the skills and sportsmanship that it takes to be a champion.”

The complete roster follows:


Caroline Cryer – Duke ‘09

Lindsey Munday – Northwestern ‘06

Katie Rowan – Syracuse ‘09


Sarah Albrecht – Northwestern ‘06

Sarah Bullard – Duke ‘11

Katie Chrest – Duke ‘06

Michele DeJuliis – Penn State ‘98

Whitney Douthett – Dartmouth ‘07

Michi Ellers-Salcedo – Georgetown ‘04

Kristen Kjellman – Northwestern ‘07

Erica LaGrow – North Carolina ‘08

Caitlyn McFadden – Maryland ‘10

Holly McGarvie – Princeton ‘09

Acacia Walker – Maryland ‘05


Amber Falcone – North Carolina ‘09

Regina Oliver – Ohio State ‘05


Megan Huether – Duke ‘06

Devon Wills – Dartmouth ‘06


Amy Altig – James Madison ‘05

Hilary Bowen – Northwestern ‘09

Quinn Carney – Maryland ‘01

Christy Finch – Northwestern ‘08

Jessica Lieb – Penn State ‘08

Nikki Lieb – Virginia ‘06


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines