follow us on...

Cabrini’s Grugan (Ridley), Colfer, McSorley (Ridley) earn top awards in CSAC

Thursday, 7th May 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/7/09     

 The Cabrini men’s lacrosse team has swept the Colonial States Athletic Conference (CSAC) postseason special awards and earned 11 first-team selections. Cavaliers coach Steve Colfer headlines the Cavaliers’ honors, earning his fifth career CSAC Coach of the Year nod.    

Colfer, in his ninth season with the Blue & White, owns a 120-32 overall record, including an 86-0 mark against CSAC opponents. He has guided the Cavaliers to eight straight conference titles and seven consecutive trips to the NCAA Tournament.    

Junior attackman Casey Grugan (Ridley) repeats as the CSAC Player of the Year. Grugan ranks first in the league in points per game (5.31) and assists per game (2.69), and is third in the league in goals per game (2.62). Nationally, he is second in assists per game and third in points per game.    

Grugan became the Cavaliers’ single-season leader all-time in points, increasing his 2009 total to 81 and surpassing Athletic Hall of Fame honoree Tom Lemieux (1999-02). As a senior, Lemieux notched 78 points on 35 goals and 43 assists.    

Freshman defenseman John McSorley (Ridley) claimed the CSAC Rookie of the Year honor. McSorley, a starter in 14-of-15 games this season, has tallied 34 groundballs and 26 caused turnovers.    

Senior attackman Scott Reimer (Downingtown West) joins Grugan on the first team. Reimer leads the Cavaliers with 52 goals and lists second with 57 points. He is the all-time leader in career points and goals at Cabrini, tallying 239 and 216, respectively, in 68 games.    

McSorley finds familiar company with him on the CSAC First Team, joined by teammates Joe Monroe (Marple Newtown) and Jeff Moore (Springfield-Delco). Monroe has totaled 24 groundballs and posted 18 caused turnovers this season. Moore, the program’s all-time leader in career groundballs, has paired 54 groundballs with 31 caused turnovers in 2009.    

Senior Matt Conaway (West Chester East), senior B.J. Kletcheck (Roman Catholic) and sophomore Paul Skulski (Garnet Valley) received first-team recognition at the midfield position. Conaway ranks fifth on the team with 22 points on 17 goals and five assists. He became the 14th player in Cabrini history to reach the 100-point plateau against Immaculata University April 4. Kletcheck lists sixth on the Cavaliers’ squad, totaling 21 points on 15 goals and six assists. Skulski has notched 36 points, scoring 21 goals and dishing 15 helpers.    

Senior cageminder Kevin Chenoweth received first-team accolades, starting 14-of-15 games between the pipes for the Blue & White. Chenoweth owns a 7.13 goals-against average and .514 save percentage. He ranks sixth all-time at Cabrini in saves, recording 182 in just under two full seasons.    

Senior Pat Grenier (Ridley) garnered first-team distinction as the Cavaliers’ top defensive middie. Grenier has played in 11 games this season, posting 16 groundballs and 14 caused turnovers. Sophomore longstick midfielder Anthony Mazza is a first-team honoree, registering 16 groundballs in 15 games.

Freshman attackman Brian Hill (Ridley) has earned second-team recognition, tallying 30 points on 21 goals and nine assists in 15 games played. Moore claimed the team’s CSAC Sportsmanship Award.   

Rookie of the Year: John McSorley (Ridley), Cabrini College

Player of the Year: Casey Grugan (Ridley), Cabrini College  

Coach of the Year: Steve Colfer, Cabrini College

First Team All-Conference:


Casey Grugan (Ridley), Cabrini College

Scott Reimer (Downingtown West), Cabrini College

Jason Reig, Centenary College


Jeff Moore (Springfield-Delco), Cabrini College

Joe Monroe (Marple Newtown), Cabrini College

John McSorley (Ridley), Cabrini College


Paul Skulski (Garnet Valley), Cabrini College

Matt Conaway (West Chester East), Cabrini College

B.J. Kletcheck (Roman Catholic), Cabrini College

Long Pole Middie:

Anthony Mazza, Cabrini College

Specialty Player:

Pat Grenier (Ridley), Cabrini College


Kevin Chenoweth, Cabrini College

Second Team All-Conference:


Brian Hill (Ridley), Cabrini College


Mike Henry, Gwynedd-Mercy College


Nick Coan (Garnet Valley), Gwynedd-Mercy College

Joe Keller (Owen J. Roberts), Immaculata University

Honorable Mention:

John Cacchio (Holy Ghost Prep), Immaculata University

Andrew Sim (Interboro), Immaculata University

CSAC Sportsmanship Award Recipients:

Jeff Moore (Springfield-Delco), Cabrini College

Jon-Eric Lane (Archbishop Ryan), Gwynedd-Mercy College

Stone Gahagan, Immaculata University

Bryan Capone (Lansdale Catholic), Neumann College



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines