follow us on...

2008 La Salle team named as 24th best boys’ scholastic squad of decade by Inside Lacrosse Magazine

Wednesday, 15th July 2009

Categories Boy's/Men's, Features, High School, Posted 7/15/09

La Salle, which won the 2008 Pennsylvania state championship, was named as the 24th best boys’ scholastic team in the decade by Inside Lacrosse magazine.

The Explorers won the final Keystone Cup championship by going 31-2. They defeated Manheim Township, 7-5, in the title game after winning the final Eastern Pennsylvania Scholastic Lacrosse Association title with dramatic wins over Haverford School, 7-6 in double overtime in the semifinals, and Malvern Prep, 4-3.

La Salle, which also won the Catholic League title, featured five All-Americans: senior Conrad Ridgway and juniors Niko Amato, Tyler Knarr, Peter Schwartz and Tucker Durkin.

Ridgway, a co-captain, will forever be known for scoring the winning goal with 0.1 seconds left in the victory over Haverford School. That game was sent into overtime when Peter Schwartz scored with 0.8 seconds left in regulation.

Amato, who played flawlessly in goal in the post season, was named the Player of the Year.

The team was coached by Bill Leahy.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines