follow us on...

.@USLacrosse, IWLCA to Honor Princeton coach Sailer (Haverford High)

Friday, 11th August 2017

Categories Girl's/Women's, Posted 8/11/17
From Press Release

US Lacrosse Thursday announced plans to name the walking path at its headquarters Chris Sailer Trail, in honor of the National Hall of Fame and Princeton University women’s lacrosse coach.

Chris Sailer Trail will be formally dedicated Oct. 21 as part of the Princeton Invitational at US Lacrosse, a four-team fall-ball event that will include the Tigers, Fairfield, Villanova and a team from the New York Athletic Club.

“In addition to leading her teams to great success on the field, Chris Sailer has been a tremendous advocate and representative of the sport during her career,” said Steve Stenersen, CEO of US Lacrosse. “We’re delighted and proud to recognize her at our facility.”

Sailer’s honor comes thanks in part to the support of former players. In conjunction with the dedication of the walking path that surrounds Tierney Field at US Lacrosse Headquarters, the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association has selected 11 former collegiate coaches to celebrate as trailblazers of the game for their exceptional work advancing women’s lacrosse and the coaching profession during the Title IX era.

Each of the following IWLCA Trailblazers will be recognized with a plaque along Chris Sailer Trail: Pat Genovese, Tina Sloan Green (Temple coach), Caroline Hausserman (Penn coach), Kathy Heinze, Carole Kleinfelder (Archbishop Prendergast grad, Harvard), Gillian Rattray (Penn State), Sue Stahl (Temple coach), Sue Tyler, Lanetta Ware, Marge Watson (Ursinus), and Judy Wolstenholme (Phoenixville alum, West Chester coach).

Each began coaching collegiate women’s lacrosse in the 1960s or 1970s, helping to lay the foundation for the modern game. Their love for the sport, passion for teaching, and dedication to coaching were driving forces in advancing women in collegiate athletics. The IWLCA Board of Directors worked with US Lacrosse to create this honor to preserve their legacy and ensure that future generations will not forget their contributions to women’s lacrosse.

“The recent gold-medal success of our U.S. women’s national team is rooted in the work of these trailblazers,” said Kathy Taylor, president of the IWLCA and head coach at Le Moyne College. “Every trailblazer has a unique story, but what bonds them together as a group is their shared commitment to the game of women’s lacrosse and the progress they paved for all of us.”

A full schedule of games and dedication ceremonies for the Oct. 21 event at Tierney Field will be announced in September.

Tags: ,


Latest Headlines