follow us on...

Three from @SJUHawks_MLAX and five Philly players overall are 2017 Senior CLASS candidates

Thursday, 9th March 2017

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 3/9/17

Saint Joseph’s senior goalkeeper T.J. Jones (Basking Ridge, N.J./Ridge) and senior defensemen Charles Giunta (Penn Charter) and Shane Taggert (Stockton, N.J./Hunterdon Central) have been selected as candidates for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate men’s lacrosse, it was announced on Wednesday afternoon. Twenty of the top NCAA men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today.

Saint Joseph’s leads all NCAA Division I men’s lacrosse programs with three candidates selected.

Also selected were North Carolina senior defenseman Austin Pifani (Abington) and Lehigh’s Cody Triolo.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced in conjunction with the 2017 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship in May.

Name Position School
Alexander Bohl Midfield Robert Morris
Christian Burgdorf Defense Denver
Connor Cannizzaro Attack Denver
Christian Carson-Banister Goaltender Boston University
Isaiah Davis-Allen Midfield Maryland
Andy DeMichiei Midfielder Marquette
Scott Firman Defense Syracuse
Charles Giunta (Penn Charter) Defense Saint Joseph’s
T.J. Jones Goalkeeper Saint Joseph’s

Jake Knostman Midfield Fairfield
Michael LeClair Attack High Point
Dylan Molloy Attackman Brown
Kyle Mummau Defense Bryant
Sergio Perkovic Midfield Notre Dame
Austin Pifani (Abington) Defenseman North Carolina
J.D. Recor Attack Marist
Eric Scott Midfielder Yale
Shane Taggert Defense Saint Joseph’s
Cody Triolo Midfielder Lehigh

Tommy Voelkel Midfield Hofstra

Tags: , , , ,


Latest Headlines