follow us on...

.@SJUHawks_WLAX picked 3rd in A-10 poll

Sunday, 5th February 2017

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Rankings, Posted 2/5/17
From Press Release

In returning the 2016 Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Year, two A-10 First Team picks, and 99.4 percent of the offense from a Hawk squad that reached the A-10 semifinals last season, the Saint Joseph’s women’s lacrosse team has been predicted to finish third in the A-10 this spring, as voted on by the league’s 10 head coaches and announced on Friday afternoon.

Eight-time defending A-10 champion UMass took the top spot with nine of 10 possible first-place votes, while Richmond earned the other first-place vote for second. George Mason (4th), Duquesne (5th), Davidson (6th), La Salle (7th), George Washington (8th), St. Bonaventure (9th), and VCU (10th) rounded out the 10-team poll.

The Hawks will kick off A-10 action with back-to-back home games against Wagner (Mar. 25) and Davidson (Mar. 31) before playing three consecutive road games against UMass (Apr. 2), St. Bonaventure (Apr. 7), and Duquesne (Apr. 9). Saint Joseph’s will then return home for a pair of contests against VCU (Apr. 13) and La Salle (Apr. 15), hit the road for a weekend at both George Mason (Apr. 21) and Richmond (Apr. 23), and close the A-10 regular season at home against George Washington (Apr. 29).

Saint Joseph’s will host the 2017 A-10 Championship from Thursday, May 4 through Sunday, May 7 on Sweeney Field. The league’s top six teams will make the postseason field.

Under the direction of third-year head coach Alex Kahoe (Agnes Irwin), Saint Joseph’s returns 19 letterwinners, including 2016 A-10 Rookie of the Year Rebecca Lane and a pair of A-10 First Team selections in senior attacker Nora McCallion (Note Dame) and senior midfielder Maggie Egan.

Saint Joseph’s went 7-2 in the A-10 regular season last spring and reached the A-10 postseason for just the third time in program history and for the first time since 2009; the Hawks defeated Davidson in the quarterfinals to advance to the semifinals.

1. Massachusetts – 98 (9 first-place votes)
2. Richmond – 86 (1 first-place vote)
3. Saint Joseph’s – 81
4. George Mason – 74
5. Duquesne – 51
6. Davidson – 47
7. La Salle – 40
8. GW – 36
9. SBU – 20
10. VCU – 17


Latest Headlines