follow us on...

Cherie Greer (@HarritonLax) named Tewaaraton Legend Honoree

Tuesday, 24th January 2017

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 1/24/17
From Press Release

The Tewaaraton Foundation announced former Virginia and Harriton High star Cherie Greer Brown as a 2017 Tewaaraton Legends honoree along with former Army star Peter Cramblet.

Cherie Greer Brown

The Tewaaraton Legends Award annually honors recipients who played college lacrosse prior to 2001, the first year in which the Tewaaraton Award was presented. Recipients are chosen on the basis that their collegiate performance would have earned them a Tewaaraton Trophy, had the award existed when they played. The previous five Legends Award winners are Syracuse’s Jim Brown (2011), Cornell’s Eamon McEneaney (2012), Johns Hopkins’ Joe Cowan (2013), Navy’s Jimmy Lewis (2014), Syracuse’s Brad Kotz (2015), Maryland’s Frank Urso (2016), the head coach at Garnet Valley and Penn State’s Candace Finn Rocha (2016).

The recipient of the 2017 Tewaaraton Women’s Legend Award presented by the IWLCA, Cherie Greer Brown was a three-time first-team All-American and the 1994 NCAA Division I Defensive Player of the Year at Virginia. A four-time member of the U.S. Women’s Team, Greer Brown was inducted into the U.S. Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 2009, and in 2000 was named to Lacrosse Magazine’s All-Century Team.

“Cherie Greer was simply the most outstanding lacrosse player to ever wear a Virginia uniform and the top collegiate and U.S. player of her time,” said Jane Miller, Greer’s coach at Virginia and current senior associate director of athletics at UVA. “She played with grace, style, speed and skill. In her final year, she led the country in scoring while being named the ‘Defensive Player of the Year,’ a very unique accomplishment. Cherie always put the team first. She never took credit but she always shouldered the responsibility for the team’s success. You will not find a more humble superstar. Cherie Greer was a treasure we were fortunate to have at the University of Virginia for four years. She was a coach’s dream, a teammate’s dream, and now a very deserving legend.”

All three recipients will receive their awards at the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony presented by Under Armour, June 1, 2017, in Washington, D.C. The Tewaaraton Foundation will unveil the 2017 Tewaaraton Award Watch List live at a special fundraising reception in New York City on Feb. 28. Information can be found at

For more information on the Tewaaraton Legends Award or to attend these exciting events, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and

About The Tewaaraton Foundation



Latest Headlines