follow us on...

.@THEDUKESLC wins MLK Invitational championship with 9-8 thriller over @TriStateLax

Sunday, 17th January 2016

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 1/17/16

Tourney MVP Jason Yoquinto (Bishop Shanahan) stood out in goal and Zach Diamond (Manheim Township) scored four goals to lead the Duke’s Lacrosse Club to a 9-8 victory Saturday over host Tri-State Black, in the the MLK Invitational championship at Peddie School in Hightstown, N.J.

Dukes entered the playoffs as the No. 2 seed; top-seeded Tri-State had been undefeated.

Dylan Tocco (St. Augustine Prep) had 11 goals in the tourney and along with Diamond (six overall) shared Dukes Offensive MVP honors.

Joey Burnham (La Salle), Zach Granger (Penncrest), Matt Lane (Lancaster Country Day School) and Jake Keller (Hun School) shared the team’s Defensive MVP award. Lane and Keller each tallied three goals and Granger played lockdown defense.

Devin Tavani (Ridley) tallied six goals in the first two games for the Dukes.

The Dukes defense was very strong, led by goalie Caton Johnson (Manheim Twp.) with key play also from defenders Logan Adams (Hunterdon Central, NJ), and Adam and Zach Galovich (Seneca, NJ).

Other key offensive contributors were Calvin Sargent (Moon Area HS, 8 Goals), Hunter Krauss (Emmaus, 6 Goals), Nick Yi (Shipley School, 3 Goals and 90% on Faceoffs); and Aidan Tocco (St. Augustine Prep, NJ, 6 Goals).

Dukes LC wins Tri-State MLK Invitational

Dukes LC wins Tri-State MLK Invitational- 1ST Row Sitting, from left: Zach Galovich, Brady Groff, Parkland HS, Caton Johnson, Zach Diamond & Hunter Krauss; 2ND Row Kneeling, from left, Coach Jason Christmas, Joe Burnham, Julian Castilleja, Radnor HS, Griffin Hanes, Bishop McDevitt-Harrisburg; Nick Yi, Jake Keller, Matt Lane, Calvin Sargent & Aidan Tocco; 3RD Row Standing, from left, Logan Adams, Zach Granger, Andy Murphy, St. Augustine; Adam Galovich, Jason Yoquinto, Eric Diamond, North Penn HS; Dylan Tocco and Coach Ebe Helm.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines