follow us on...

Schedule announced for I-95 Cup team face-off championships Saturday at @MSI_Lacrosse

Friday, 12th February 2016

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 2/12/16
From Press Release

The schedule has been announced for the inaugural I-95 Cup, a face-off team tournament involving four major Mid-Atlantic regions being held Saturday at Maple Zone Sports Institute in Garnet Valley.I95-Cup-1-e1453598592465

The event, co-hosted by the Philly Faceoff League and the Face-Off Academy, will feature elite 10-man face-off team teams from Philly, DC/MD/VA, New York and New Jersey.

The I-95 Cup is not your ordinary face-off tournament. It’s the ultimate challenge to see which AREA of the country has the most talented face-off midfielders. The teams will feature its 10 top face-off specialists in an intense, never before seen style tournament.

The event kicks off with Philly facing NY and NJ meeting DC/MD/VA at 9 a.m. At 10 Philly meets NJ and NY squares off with DC/MD/VA. At 11, Philly and DC/MD/VA meet and NY faces NJ.

At noon the top seed meets the fourth seed and the No. 2 and No. 3 seeds meet with the championship set for 1 p.m.

Rosters for the tourney are below.

The Philadelphia team was chosen by Philly Face-Off League co-founders John Bodnar and Mike Dolente and Mike Gurenlian of the Philly FOA.

Faceoff Academy directors Greg Gurenlian (New York), Chris Mattes (Maryland/DC/Virginia), and Jerry Ragonese (New Jersey) are the head coaches of their respective regions.

Greg Gurenlian – a Springfield-Delco and Penn State graduate who is a perennial MLL All-Star and the face-off specialist on the US National team – runs a daily face-off combine in New York City, Mattes runs his in Maryland, and Ragonese in New Jersey.

How is this tournament going to work?

Each team will have to play each other once in order to determine playoff seedings. When a matchup between two regions has started, it’s a 10 round best of 7 face-offs. At the start of each round, there will be a coin toss. The losing team has to send out their first face-off guy. This gives the other team the opportunity to see who they are sending, and the coach of that team will choose who will face him.

For example, New York is playing Philadelphia in the first round of the day. New York loses the coin toss and therefore has to send out their first face-off guy. Philadelphia sees who they are sending and sends out somebody who they feel is a strong favorite to win. Let’s say the New York player pulls the upset and wins his best of 7 with a score of 4-2. Because the NY player won, he is automatically awarded 3 extra points. Therefore the final score is 7-2. This score then gets reported to the scorekeeper, and Philly then has to send out its next player for the second matchup. Whoever loses that next matchup will have to send out the next player, and vice-versa until all 10 players have faced each other. Whatever team has the most points at the end of the 10 face-off battles wins.

This format continues until every team has played every team. After all 3 rounds, the total points that each team scored in every matchup will be counted and the team with the most points will be the #1 seed. In the playoffs, the #1 seed will play the #4 seed, and the #2 seed will play the #3. The winners will play in the championship.

Team Philly
Sean Christman – 2017- Malvern Prep- Fairfield
Christian Feliziani- 2016- Episcopal Academy- Ohio State
Dan Fisher- 2017- St. Joseph’s Prep- Villanova
Anthony Giuliani- 2017- Lasalle College HS- Penn
Cade Heverly- 2017- Ridley HS- Yale
Ryan Murray- 2017- Springside Chestnut Hill- Drexel
Brendan Patterson- 2016- Council Rock South HS- Binghamton
Justin Schwenk – 2016- Spring-Ford HS- Monmouth
Michael Sisselberger- 2018- Southern Lehigh HS- Lehigh
Gavin Tygh- 2019- Penn Charter- Virginia


Justin Shockey – 2017 – Landon School – Navy
Michael Abizaid – 2017 – Landon School – Uncommitted
Palmer Lloyd – 2016 – James Madison High School – Rutgers
Michael Thorne – 2017 – Northern High School – Uncommitted
Stephen Goedeke – 2017 – North Hartford High School – Uncommitted
Justin Burnette – 2016 – Owing Mills High School – Stevenson
Matt Gunty – 2019 – Sidwell Friends School – Uncommitted
Nick Mcevoy – 2016 – Gonzaga High School – Penn State
Nick Rowlett – 2018 – Robinson Secondary School – Lafayette
Brendan Tscherne – 2017 – St. Paul’s High School – Air Force

Team NY
Gerard Arceri – 2016 – Smithtown East- Penn State
PJ Argiros – 2018- Kellenberg Memorial (Uncommitted)
Conor Calderone – 2019- Smithtown West – Maryland
Ralph Chrappa – 2016- Bronxville HS – Princeton
Andrew Evans – 2017- Mahopac HS- Uncommitted
Alex Giovinco – 2016- Syosset HS –Maryland
Lewis Gramma- 2017- Wheatley School – Hartwick
Tyler Sandoval- 2019- Chaminade HS- Uncommitted
Bailey Savio- 2017- Greenwhich – Loyola
Zac Tucci 2018- Bedford- Cornell

Team NJ
Henry Sippel- 2016- Ridgewood HS- Uncommitted
Cameron Hollander- 2019- West Morris HS- Uncommitted
Giacomo Fiorenza- 2016 Uncommitted
Bill McMenamin – 2016- St. Augustine Prep-Fairfield
Kyle Prouty – 2017- New Egypt HS- Princeton
James Zusi- 2017- Pingry HS- Uncommitted
Nicholas DeOliveira – 2017- Lacey Twp HS- Uncommitted
Mike Hicks – 2019 – Bergen Catholic – Uncommitted
Dustin Parker- 2018 Immacculata HS – Uncommitted
Jimmy Spillane – 2016 – Pasack Valley HS- Rochester Institute of Technology


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines