follow us on...

NCAA women’s D3 lacrosse championships: Cabrini has first-round game Saturday

Monday, 9th May 2016

Categories College, Girl's/Women's, Posted 5/9/16
From Press Release

The Cabrini women’s lacrosse team will begin its 2016 NCAA Tournament on Saturday, as it faces Meredith College in a first round game, to be played at Salisbury University in Salisbury, Md. The opening draw is slated for 11:30 a.m.

The winner of Saturday’s opening round game will face No. 3 Salisbury in Sunday’s second round at 1 p.m..

The Cavaliers (13-5) are making their 13th NCAA Tournament appearance and fifth in a row, after claiming the 2016 Colonial States Athletic Conference title on Saturday. The Blue and White topped Neumann 18-10 to claim the program’s 15th CSAC championship in its 20 year existence.

Senior Katie Lasater (Great Valley) earned Most Valuable Player honors after posting a season high five goals and six points in the win. Junior Allie Vallen (Maple Shade, NJ) led all players with seven points in the win, pairing three goals and four assists, while sophomore Sasha Wozniak (Spring-Ford) added six points on three goals and three assists.

Meredith (17-1) enters the NCAA Tournament as champions of the USA South Conference, the Avenging Angels’ third consecutive title. Meredith topped Piedmont 17-11 with a dominant second half performance.

USA South Player of the Year and tournament MVP sophomore Carlee Joseph led the Avenging Angels with eight goals in the title game, while senior Katie Burnett paired four goals and a helper.

The Sea Gulls (16-2) earned an automatic bid into the tournament after earning its 16th, and 14th-consecutive, Capital Athletic Conference title by defeating St. Mary’s College of Maryland, 12-5, in the championship game on Saturday, April 30.

Senior Megan Wallenhorst tallied five points on two goals and three assists to pace Salisbury, while junior Gabby Nieves netted a trio of goals.


The NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the 40 teams that will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Championship.

Twenty-seven conferences have been awarded automatic qualification for the championship. Four teams have been selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final nine berths are reserved for Pool C, which includes the remaining institutions in conferences with automatic qualification that are not the conference champion plus remaining independents and members of non-qualifying conferences.

Eight first-round games will be conducted Saturday, May 14 with the winners advancing to the second round. Sixteen second-round games will be conducted on Sunday, May 15 with the winners advancing to one of four regional sites Saturday and Sunday, May 21-22. Winners of the four regionals will advance to the semifinals and final, which take place Saturday and Sunday, May 28-29 at Talen Energy Stadium in Philadelphia. Saint Joseph’s University and Widener University will serve as hosts for the championship.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines