follow us on...

NCAA men’s D1 field is announced; Final Four to be held at Lincoln Financial Field

Sunday, 8th May 2016

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/8/16
From Press Release

The NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Committee announced the field for its championship tournament today.

The following conferences and their representatives received automatic qualification:

La Salle/Duke's L.C. grad Matt Rambo (100 career goals) leads No. 1 Maryland

La Salle/Duke’s L.C. grad Matt Rambo (100 career goals) leads No. 1 Maryland (Photo by Rene Schleicher)

America East Conference – University of Hartford
Atlantic Coast Conference – Syracuse University
Big East Conference – Marquette University
Colonial Athletic Association Towson University
Big Ten Conference – University of Maryland, College Park
The Ivy League – Yale University
Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference – Quinnipiac University
Northeast Conference – Hobart College
Patriot League – Loyola University Maryland
Southern Conference- U.S. Air Force Academy

The top 14 teams have been placed in the bracket, while the remaining four teams will compete for the chance to advance to the round of 16. Those games will take place Wednesday, May 11 with Hobart traveling to Towson and Hartford playing at Quinnipiac.

The remainder of the field was selected at large: University at Albany, Brown University, University of Denver, Duke University, Johns Hopkins University, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, University of Notre Dame and the U.S. Naval Academy.

The Final Four will be held at Philly’s Lincoln Financial Field on May 28 and 30, hosted by Drexel University.

Maryland received the No. 1 overall seed, and will face the winner of Hartford and Quinnipiac preliminary game, May 15 at 12:30 p.m. Eastern. No. 2 seed Denver will play the winner of the preliminary round game between Towson and Hobart May 15 at 3 p.m. Eastern. Notre Dame, the No. 3 seed, will host Air Force May 14 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern. The Ivy League champion Yale Bulldogs are the No. 4 seed and will host Navy May 15 at 5:15 p.m. Eastern.

The No. 5 seed Brown Bears will host Johns Hopkins May 14 at 5 p.m. Eastern. Marquette will make its first NCAA Tournament appearance as the No. 6 seed and host North Carolina May 14 at 2:30 p.m. Eastern. No. 7 Loyola Maryland will host Duke May 14 at Noon Eastern, while Syracuse will host Albany (New York) as the No. 8 seed May 15 at 7:30 p.m. Eastern.

All Division I first round games will be televised on ESPNU. The quarterfinal games will all be televised on ESPN2 or ESPNU May 21 and 22. The Division I semifinal and championship games, and the Division II and III championship games, will be held at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, May 28-30 and hosted by Drexel University. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at Noon Eastern time, May 28. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at 1 p.m. Eastern time, May 30.

For additional information, game times and location, please visit

To purchase tickets for the Final Four, click here.

Coming to Philly for NCAA lax? Get 10 percent off any time at the Hilton at Penn’s Landing


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines