follow us on...

Men’s D3 championships: @CabriniMLAX, @Eastern_MLAX have first-round games Wednesday

Monday, 9th May 2016

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 5/9/16
From Press Release

The NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Committee has selected the teams that will compete in the 2016 NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship.

The championship provides for a 32-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 23 conference champions, which form “Pool A.” Three teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining six teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

Cabrini, the Colonial States Athletic Conference champion, will play Wednesday at Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth champion Stevenson at 7 p.m.

Eastern, the champion of the Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom, will play at Capital Athletic Conference champion York at 4 p.m.

Except for the championship game9, all games will be played on the campus of one of the competing teams. First round competition will be held on Wednesday, May 11 with the winners advancing to play in the second round on Saturday, May 14. The eight remaining teams will play in the quarterfinals, Wednesday, May 18 and the semifinals will be played Sunday, May 22.

This year’s finalists will advance to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania for the championship game at Lincoln Financial Field, which will be played at 1 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, May 29, and shown via web stream on That game will be followed by the Division II championship at 4 p.m. Eastern time, which can also be seen on The Division I semifinals and championship are Saturday, May 28 and Monday, May 30 at the same site.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Men’s Lacrosse Championship, go to

To purchase tickets for the Final Four Championship Weekend, click here.

Coming to Philly for NCAA lax? Get 10 percent off any time at the Hilton at Penn’s Landing

The champions of the following conferences received automatic qualification (AQ):

Commonwealth Coast Conference – Western New Eng. (15-3)
Empire 8 – Ithaca (18-1)
Great Northeast Athletic Conference – Emmanuel (MA) (11-8)
Liberty League – RIT (17-1)
Little East Conference – Keene St. (14-3)
NESCAC -Tufts (16 -2)
NEWMAC Lacrosse League – Springfield (11-7)
North Atlantic Conference – New England Col. (13-6)
North Eastern Athletic Conference – Morrisville St. (13-2)
Skyline Conference – Montclair St. (12-6)
State University of New York Athletic Conference – SUNY Cortland (13-5)

Capital Athletic Conference – York (PA) (16-3)
Centennial Conference – Gettysburg (14-2)
Colonial States Athletic Conference – Cabrini (14-4)
Landmark Conference – Catholic (11-6)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association – Albion (13-4)
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth – Stevenson (15-4)
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom – Eastern (14-5)
Midwest Lacrosse Conference – Aurora (16-2)
North Coast Athletic Conference – Denison (16-1)
Ohio Athletic Conference – John Carroll (12-5)
Old Dominion Athletic Conference – Wash. & Lee (15-3)
Southern Athletic Association – Sewanee (12-3)

Pool B Selections:
Carthage (9-9)
Colorado Col. (11-4)
Whittier (8-5)

Pool C Selections:
Amherst (12-4)
Middlebury (12-6)
Lynchburg (12-8)
Rensselaer (13-4)
Salisbury (18-1)
St. Lawrence (15-2

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines