follow us on...

Cherry (Radnor) earns All-Europe honors for @Israel_Lacrosse after 7-6 loss to England in Euro finals

Sunday, 7th August 2016

Categories Boy's/Men's, International, Posted 8/7/16
From Press Release

The Israel men’s national team fell one goal short of a European Championship, as powerhouse England edged the blue-and-white, 7-6, in the Gold Medal Match of the 2016 ELF European Lacrosse Championships.

Israel led 3-2 at halftime and 4-3 late in the third quarter before England came to life, rallying for four straight goals to take a commanding 7-4 advantage in the final frame.

The Israelis fought back, as Caleb Brodie and Kyle Bergman (Drexel) scored back-to-back goals in the final two minutes to cut the deficit to 7-6. However, Israel was unable to score on the unsuing possession, and the English stalled out the final minute to hold on and successfully defend their European Championship.

Bergman led Israel (7-1) with two goals, while Brodie, Alex Siegel, Ian Kadish and Noah Miller chipped in with singles. Daniel Leventhal and Matthew Cherry (Radnor, Dickinson) each added an assist.

Cherry was later named to the All-Europe team.

Joshua Roden-Lowe led England (8-0) with two goals. William Baxter (80:00, 20 saves, 6 GA) was named MVP of the 2016 European Championships following his standout game between the pipes for England.

Eric Fischer (80:00, 18 saves, 7 GA) was dealt the loss in net for Israel.

The blue-and-white received Silver Medals following the match; despite the loss, Israel earned its first medal in program history.

2016 European Lacrosse Championship final standings:
1. England
2. Israel
3. Finland
4. Wales
5. Germany
6. Switzerland
7. Netherlands
8. Scotland
9. Latvia
10. Czech Republic
11. Ireland
12. Norway
13. Sweden
14. Poland
15. Belgium
16. Russia
17. Hungary
18. Spain
19. Austria
20. Denmark
21. Italy
22. Slovakia
23. France
24. Slovenia

All-Europe team:
Nick Watson (England)
Roope Jokela (Finland)
Nick Guy (England)
Matthew Cherry (Israel)
Niklas Sparr Johnsen (Norway)
Thomas Brook (England)
Andrew Baxter (England)
Max Gradinger (Israel)
Lukas Tophoven (Germany)
Darin Eakins (Germany)

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines