follow us on...

Men’s post-season honors: @CabriniMLAX dominates All-CSAC team

Friday, 10th June 2016

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 6/10/16
From Press Release

This is one of a series of posts highlighting Philly men’s college post-season honors for 2016

Junior Evan Downey was named Co-Player of the Year and freshman Jordan Krug (Vherokee, NJ) was named Rookie of the Year to lead 15 Colonial States Athletic Conference Men’s Lacrosse End of the Year Awards.

Evan Downey, Jordan Krug

Cabrini’s Evan Downey (left), Jordan Krug

A total of nine Cavaliers earned All-CSAC First Team accolades. Joining Downey and Krug on the All-CSAC First Team are seniors Ethan Heisman (Henderson), Matt Ward (Ridley), Brian Kittredge, Chris Schneekloth (Central Bucks East), Dan Hopson (Interboro), Cole Campbell (Emmaus) and freshman Matt LoParo.

Sophomore Joey Hoey (Springfield-Delco) and freshman Riley White were named to the Second Team, while freshman Timmy Brooks (Haverford School) received Honorable Mention. Senior Austin Edelman was also named to the CSAC Sportsmanship Team.

Downey, who shared the CSAC’s top honor with Gwynedd Mercy’s Tony McCraw, posted 30 goals and 46 assists during the regular season, both fourth on the team. The junior also ranked second on the team with 45 ground balls.

The two-time CSAC Offensive Player of the Week was at his best against the best competition. Downey paired 10 goals and five assists with 17 ground balls in seven games against regionally ranked teams, with three goals, including the overtime game-winner against Lynchburg.

Krug made an immediate impact for the Cavaliers from his first collegiate game, in which he scored three goals. On the season, the rookie ranks among the top six in the CSAC with 33 goals, 22 assists and 55 points.

The freshman scored at least one goal in each of the club’s 15 games, scoring four goals against then No. 9 Ohio Wesleyan and seven points on four goals and three assists at SUNY Cortland.

Heisman, the newest member of Cabrini’s 100 career goal club, led the Blue and White with 38 goals, while his 52 points were good for third. The senior began a string of four consecutive hat tricks to end the regular season with three goals at No. 1 Salisbury before notching a career high 10 points at Rosemont.

Ward was twice named CSAC Defensive Player of the Week, pairing 13 caused turnovers and 31 ground balls with three points and nine faceoff wins. The senior set a program record with eight caused turnovers against Ohio Wesleyan and corralled four ground balls at SUNY Cortland.

Kittredge, Ward’s defensive mate, forced 20 turnovers and scooped 35 ground balls, while scoring a pair of goals. The senior secured seven ground balls in a win over Ohio Wesleyan and caused three turnovers against Dickinson, Gwynedd Mercy and Marywood.

Schneekloth ranks as one of the nation’s top faceoff specialists, ranking eighth in the nation with a .694 winning percentage. The senior also leads the team with 87 ground balls, including a career high 10 against Keystone, Rosemont and Centenary.

Hopson, a longstick midfielder, led the Cavaliers with 22 caused turnovers and secured 26 ground balls. The senior caused at least one turnover in 10 games and scooped at least one ground ball in 11 contests. Hopson caused three turnovers against RIT, Haverford and Hampden-Sydney.

Campbell was named the league’s top short stick midfielder after a regular season that saw the senior collect 26 ground balls and cause six turnovers. The senior secured four loose balls against Lynchburg, Hampden-Sydney and Neumann, one more than he recorded at SUNY Cortland.

Like Krug, LoParo burst onto the collegiate scene, leading the conference with 61 points and 34 assists. The rookie recorded at least five points in seven games, including six assists in a win over Hampden-Sydney and a seven point performance at SUNY Cortland.

Colonial States (CSAC)

Co-Players of the Year: Tony McCraw, Gwynedd Mercy; Evan Downey, Cabrini

Defensive Player of the Year: Kevin Switzer, Centenary
Rookie of the Year: Jordan Krug, Cabrini
Coach of the Year: Hugh Donovan, Immaculata

First Team
Pos. Name Yr School Hometown/High School
A Ethan Heisman Sr Cabrini West Chester, Pa./Henderson
A Jordan Krug Fr Cabrini Marlton, N.J./Cherokee

A Matt LoParo Fr Cabrini Ridgewood, N.J./Ridgewood
M Evan Downey Jr Cabrini Palmyra, Pa./Palmyra
M Cody Bachman Sr Marywood Butler, Pa./Butler
M Tony McCraw Sr Gwynedd Mercy Lawnton, Pa./Central Dauphin East
D Matt Ward Sr Cabrini Swarthmore, Pa./Ridley
D Brian Kittredge Sr Cabrini Mahwah, N.J./Don Bosco Prep
D Marc Bushong Jr Gwynedd Mercy Sewell, N.J./Washington Township
FO Chris Schneekloth Sr Cabrini Doylestown, Pa./Central Bucks East
LSM Dan Hopson Sr Cabrini Prospect Park, Pa./Interboro
SSM Cole Campbell Sr Cabrini Macungie, Pa./Emmaus

G Kevin Switzer Sr Centenary Hillsdale, N.J./Pascack Valley

Second Team
Pos. Name Yr School Hometown/High School
A Trevor Krupinski Sr Centenary Lincoln Park, N.J./Boonton
A Mike Reardon So Immaculata Woodbury, N.J./West Deptford
A Scott Slater Sr Marywood Cicero, N.Y./Cicero-North
M Joey DeBiasse Sr Centenary Long Valley, N.J./West Morris Central
M Nolan Gottshall Jr Centenary Toms River, N.J./Toms River East
M Brendan Doyle So Immaculata Oreland, Pa./Springfield Township
D Spencer Stachowiack So Centenary Bel Air, Md./Bel Air
D Joe O’Connell Sr Marywood Chester, Pa./Archmere Academy
D Joey Hoey So Cabrini Springfield, Pa./Springfield
FO Zach Bowe Jr Rosemont West Chester, Pa./West Chester East
LSM Nick Harkins Sr Gwynedd Mercy Philadelphia, Pa./Archbishop Ryan
SSM Kyle Butera So Marywood West Milford, N.J./West Milford Twp.
G Riley White So Cabrini Pottstown, Pa./Pottsgrove

Honorable Mention
Pos. Name Yr School Hometown/High School
A Ryan Simpson Fr Gwynedd Mercy Havertown, Pa./Upper Darby

A Stephen Licata Sr Rosemont Towson, Md./Baltimore Lutheran
A Anthony Bottoms Jr Rosemont Philadelphia, Pa./Roman Catholic
M Ralph Ibezim Sr Rosemont Maplewood, N.J./Columbia
M Tyler Black So Immaculata Lebanon, Pa./Cedar Crest
M Timmy Brooks Fr Cabrini Villanova, Pa./The Haverford School
D Brandon Brown Sr Gwynedd Mercy Warminster, Pa./Archbishop Wood
D Connor Betts Sr Neumann West Chester, Pa./West Chester Rustin
D Xavier Glanzel Fr Neumann Newark, Del./Delaware Military Acad.
FO Brad Keeney Sr Gwynedd Mercy Lumberton, N.J./Rancocas Valley

LSM James Iwanicki So Centenary Gloucester, Mass./Ipswich
SSM Dillon Cave Sr Gwynedd Mercy Philadelphia, Pa./Archbishop Ryan
G Sean Myers Jr Gwynedd Mercy Clark, N.J./Arthur L. Johnson



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines