follow us on...

UNC’s Sankey (Penn Charter) named co-recipient of prestigious Patterson Medal

Sunday, 19th July 2015

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 7/19/15
From Press Release

Penn Charter grad Joey Sankey, UNC’s all-time leading scorer in men’s lacrosse, and Caroline Price, the Most Outstanding Player at the ITA National Indoor Tennis Championships, are the recipients of the 2014-15 Patterson Medals.

The award is thPattersone most prestigious athletic honor awarded at the University of North Carolina.

Price is the first women’s tennis player to win the Patterson Medal. Sankey is the second men’s lacrosse recipient and the first since Jed Prossner in 2005.

Sankey (Warminster, Pa.) is Carolina’s all-time points leader in lacrosse with 229 and ranks third in both goals (125) and assists (104). A second-team All-America as a senior and a third-team All-America in 2013 and 2014, Sankey teamed with fellow senior attackman Jimmy Bitter to lead the Tar Heels to 47 wins and four straight NCAA Tournament appearances. Carolina won the ACC championship in 2013, its first in 17 seasons.

Sankey earned All-ACC honors three times, compiled a 53-game point streak that is the second-longest in school history and had 34 multi-goal games. As a senior, he had a career-high 38 assists and registered points in all 17 games. He also earned Academic All-ACC honors and was a USILA Scholar All-America.

“What a wonderful honor for Joey,” says UNC lacrosse coach Joe Breschi. “Becoming the all-time leading scorer in UNC lacrosse history is quite a feat, but Joey’s an even better person, leader and student than he is a lacrosse player. I couldn’t be happier for him.”

Price (Duluth, Ga.) led the Tar Heel women’s tennis team to its winningest four-year stretch in program history. UNC went 111-19 in her career, including 46-4 in Atlantic Coast Conference play, finished atop the ACC regular-season standings three times and posted two Elite Eight and one second place finish in NCAA Tournament play. The Tar Heels won the ITA Indoor National Championship in both 2013 and 2015 and were national runners-up at the 2014 NCAA Championship.

She earned All-America honors in singles as a sophomore and in doubles the following year, and was a first-team All-ACC selection in 2015. She ranks second all-time in singles victories at UNC with 128. Price led the nation in 2015 with 27 dual match singles victories.

The Patterson Medal is based primarily on athletic accomplishment. The recipients must have played at least three seasons for the Tar Heels. Sportsmanship and leadership are also considered. Dr. Joseph Patterson first presented the medal in 1924 to honor the memory of his brother, John Durand Patterson.

The Patterson family will help present the medals to Price and Sankey at ceremonies during the upcoming school year.



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines