follow us on...

.@SJUHawks_MLAX put 14 on NEC Spring Honor Roll; McGee is league’s award winner again

Tuesday, 23rd June 2015

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 6/23/15
From Press Release

For the second consecutive year, Saint Joseph’s graduate student midfielder Ryan McGee (White Plains, N.Y./White Plains) has been selected the Northeast Conference Men’s Lacrosse Spring Scholar-Athlete award winner, the league office announced on Monday afternoon.

All scholar-athlete award winners earned a minimum of 60 semester hours at their institution, maintained a minimum cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 and participated with distinction as a member of a varsity team.

A two-time All-NEC First Team selection, McGee led the NEC with 1.47 assists per game and ranked second in points (3.29/game) and fifth in goals (1.82/game) this season.

The White Plains, NY native has also been recognized as a 2015 Senior CLASS Award All-American Second-Team selection and the 2015 Philadelphia Inquirer Academic All-Area Men’s Lacrosse Performer of the Year; McGee is also a nominee for the Philadelphia Inquirer Academic All-Area Overall Performer of the Year.

McGee capped his career on Hawk Hill with 175 points on 107 goals and 68 assists; he ranks third in all-time career goals, fourth in all-time career points, and seventh in all-time career assists in the SJU program record books and closed out his career on a 43-game point scoring streak dating back to March 2, 2012. He graduated from Saint Joseph’s in May 2014 with a degree in finance and is currently pursuing a Master of Science degree in financial services from SJU.

Saint Joseph’s has placed 14 men’s lacrosse student-athletes on the Northeast Conference 2015 Spring Academic Honor Roll. Student-athletes must post a 3.20 or higher for the spring semester in order to be named to the honor roll. The Hawks doubled their total number of honor roll recipients from last year.

Additionally, freshman Chris Blewitt (Lincoln Park, N.J./Bergen Catholic) earned a spot on the 2015 NEC Spring Commissioner’s Honor Roll for achieving a 3.75 or higher for the spring semester.

Below is a list of Saint Joseph’s 14 men’s lacrosse honorees.

Kevin Barrow / Senior / Landenberg, Pa. / Avon Grove / Political Science *
Chris Blewitt / Freshman / Lincoln Park, N.J. / Bergen Catholic / Finance
Kyle Bruun / Senior / Chevy Chase, Md. / Gonzaga (D.C.) / Biology *
Kyle Cain / Freshman / Wantagh, N.Y. / Wantagh / Business
Connor Kearnan / Freshman / Courtice, Ontario / St. Stephen’s Secondary / Accounting
Dustin Keen / Senior / Downingtown, Pa. / Downingtown West / Pharmaceutical Marketing
Ryan McGee / Graduate Student / White Plains, N.Y. / White Plains / Financial Services *
Brendan McNicholas / Freshman / West Grove, Pa. / Avon Grove / Food Marketing
Dylan O’Donnell / Senior / Media, Pa. / Penncrest / Accounting *
Matt Sarcona / Senior / Northport, N.Y. / Northport / Interdisciplinary Health Services
Austin Smith / Freshman / Olney, Md. / Our Lady of Good Counsel / Business
Dale Stasco / Freshman / Garden City, N.Y. / Garden City / Business
Pat Swanick / Junior / Haverford, Pa. / St. Joseph’s Prep / Accounting *
Jon Weinstein / Freshman / West Chester, Pa./ Bishop Shanahan / Chemical Biology



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines