follow us on...

Public League girls’ championship: Franklin Towne Charter wins first crown

Thursday, 21st May 2015

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 5/21/15

Saharh Shotwell scored five goals and Angela O’Donnell and Melissa O’Donnell each had three as Franklin Towne Charter defeated Girls’ High, 14-6, Wednesday to win its first Public League girls’ lacrosse championship at Northeast High.

Franklin Towne Charter (12-4), in its second year, also got goals from Julia Fialkowski, Kali Fialkowski and Kaitlin Lavechhia.

Franklin Towne Charter celebrates its first Public League championship

Franklin Towne Charter celebrates its first Public League championship

“The Franklin Towne Lacrosse program started only two years ago. As a beginning program the expectations of us were to ‘give it a go’ and see how we did,” said coach Lindsey Specht. “However, the group of girls that stepped onto that field had other ideas.

“They worked hard, practicing at 6 am and going to a clinic at Rutgers University, missing their opportunity to go to playoffs in their first season on a technicality. From then on, the only objective was to show everyone that Franklin Towne Lacrosse was in fact the best team in the league, and in the 2015 season, the group of 9 seniors and their underclassmen won the Public League and became undefeated Champions in only their second year.”

Defenders Julia Fialkowski, Richnie Jasmin and Jillian Stokes kept Girls’ High’s attack in control, while also making clears and leading transotion. Mikaela Estepp had 14 saves, most of them occurring in the last five. minutes of the game.

FTC will face Catholic League champion Archbishop Carroll on Friday at 4 p.m. at Northeast for the District 11 title and a PIAA berth.

Public League Championship
Franklin Towne Charter 14, Girls’ High 6
FTC: 6-8 14
GH: 3-3 6

Julia Fialkowski 1g
Kali Fialkowski 1g
Kaitlin Lavecchia 1g
Angela ODonnell 3g
Melissa ODonnell 3g
Sarah Shotwell 5g

Girls High
Destiny Brooks 4g
Nana Huang 1g
Melissa Abraham 1g



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines