follow us on...

Philly’s DiFrangia, Sankey, Pontrello, Taylor, McGee named as Senior CLASS Award candidates

Wednesday, 4th March 2015

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 3/4/15
From Press Release

Twenty of the top NCAA® men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate lacrosse.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced in conjunction with the 2015 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship in May.

Lacrosse 2015 Candidates

Name Position School

Erik Adamson Midfield University of Denver
Connor Buczek Midfield Cornell
Mark DiFrangia (La Salle) Defense St. John’s (N.Y.)
Tim Edwards Midfielder Canisius College
Pat Frazier Defense Loyola University Maryland
Austin Geisler Goalkeeper High Point University
Richie Hurley Attack Siena College
Mike Malave Midfield Hofstra University
Ryan McGee Attack Saint Joseph’s University
Terry McKenna Midfield Holy Cross
Matt McMahon Defense University of Pennsylvania
Joe Nardella Midfield Rutgers
Conrad Oberbeck Attack Yale
David Planning Midfield Ohio State
Nikko Pontrello (St. Augustine Prep) Attack Loyola University Maryland
Kevin Rice Attack Syracuse University
Joey Sankey (Penn Charter) Attack University of North Carolina
Sam Somers Goalie U.S. Military Academy
Dan Taylor Attack Lehigh University
Ryan Tucker Midfield Virginia


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines