follow us on...

.@LehighLacrosse releases 2016 men’s lacrosse schedule

Tuesday, 6th October 2015

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 10/6/15
From Press Release

Lehigh head men’s lacrosse coach Kevin Cassese announced the team’s 2016 schedule on Tuesday which features 15 games against quality competition. Highlighting the nonleague slate is an early-season game at Duke and late-season games at Princeton and home vs. Cornell. In total, the Mountain Hawks face three teams who made the NCAA Tournament last year.

After the season opener at home vs. NJIT on Saturday, Feb. 6, Lehigh heads to Duke on Sunday, Feb. 14 for a matchup against the three-time National Champion Blue Devils. Duke has won two of the last three and three of the last six National Titles overall. Last season snapped an incredible stretch of eight straight seasons advancing to the National Semifinals. Duke still made the NCAA Tournament, falling to Ohio State in the First Round. The game will be especially meaningful for Cassese, a former All-American player and assistant coach at Duke. Cassese was a two-time finalist for the Tewaaraton Award, college lacrosse’s version of the Heisman Trophy, and one of the most decorated student-athletes in Duke history.

Following the matchup against the Blue Devils, Lehigh remains on the road to face Furman on Saturday, Feb. 20. The Paladins enjoyed a strong second season as a program last year, advancing to the Southern Conference Tournament.

The Mountain Hawks return home on Feb. 27 for their Patriot League opener against Holy Cross. Lehigh then welcomes defending league champion Colgate the following Saturday, Mar. 5.

Lehigh hits the road for its next two Patriot League matchups, at Army West Point (Mar. 12) and Lafayette (Mar. 19). There’s a home nonleague tilt against Hampton in between (Mar. 14). A first-year program, the Mountain Hawks added the Monday night matchup against the Pirates to help grow the game of lacrosse.

After facing the archrival Leopards on Saturday, Mar. 19, the Mountain Hawks return home on the 26th to host Navy, then welcome one of the America East’s top teams Stony Brook on Tuesday, Mar. 29.

Lehigh heads to Boston University on Saturday, Apr. 2 as the Mountain Hawks will alternate home and road games for the remainder of the regular season. Lehigh will host Loyola on Apr. 9 before traveling to six-time NCAA Champion Princeton on Tuesday, Apr. 12 in a rematch of last season’s thriller, which the Mountain Hawks won, 16-15. Four days later, Lehigh plays another Ivy League power, hosting Cornell on the 16th in its final regular season home game. The Big Red have advanced to 11 of the last 12 NCAA Tournaments, which includes four trips to the Final Four in that span.

The Mountain Hawks close out the regular season on Friday, Apr. 22 at rival Bucknell. The Patriot League Tournament begins with Quarterfinal games on Tuesday, Apr. 26 with the Semifinals on Friday, Apr. 29 and the Championship Game on Sunday, May 1. The winner of the Patriot League Tournament will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament, which begins on Saturday, May 14.

2016 Schedule

Saturday, Feb. 6 vs. NJIT
Sunday, Feb. 14 at Duke
Saturday, Feb. 20 at Furman
Saturday, Feb. 27 vs. Holy Cross*
Saturday, Mar. 5 vs. Colgate*
Saturday, Mar. 12 at Army West Point*
Monday, Mar. 14 vs. Hampton
Saturday, Mar. 19 at Lafayette*
Saturday, Mar. 26 vs. Navy*
Tuesday, Mar. 29 vs. Stony Brook
Saturday, Apr. 2 at Boston University*
Saturday, Apr. 9 vs. Loyola*
Tuesday, Apr. 12 at Princeton
Saturday, Apr. 16 vs. Cornell
Friday, Apr. 22 at Bucknell*
Tuesday, Apr. 26 Patriot League Quarterfinals
Friday, Apr. 29 Patriot League Semifinals
Sunday, May 1 Patriot League Championship Game



Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines