follow us on...

Pifani (Abington), Rambo (La Salle), Sutton (St. Augustine Prep) named recipients of Duke’s LC’s Peter Ortale Award

Monday, 6th January 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Posted 1/6/14

Abington’s Austin Pifani, La Salle’s Matt Rambo and St. Augustine Prep’s Michael Sutton have been named as recipients of the annual Peter Ortale Memorial Fund Award by the Duke’s Lacrosse Club.

The scholarship awards of $1,000 may be used toward their college expenses. Pifani (defenseman) is playing lacrosse at North Carolina this year, Rambo (attackman) is playing at Maryland and Sutton (midfielder) at Penn State.

Michael Sutton, Matt Rambo, Austin Pifani

St. Augustine Prep’s Michael Sutton (left), La Salle’s Matt Rambo (center) and Abington’s Austin Pifani were named recipients of the Peter Ortale Award

The Award was created both to honor Ortale – a former Duke’s player who passed away while working at the World Trade Center in the 9-11 terrorist act – and to support the Duke’s mission to support tradition, sportsmanship and community service.

Pifani, Rambo and Sutton were chosen for their positive attributes and contributions to the Duke’s LC. Ortale, a Penn Charter graduate, starred at Duke. Ortale was 37 years old and working as a securities broker for Euro Brokers Inc. when the World Trade Center was attacked.

Last year Pifani earned US Lacrosse All-American honors, played in the Under Armour Senior All-American Game and was while leading Abington to the District 1 playoffs.

Rambo was the Player of the Year in leading La Salle to the PIAA state championship. Rambo also was the Under Armour Senior All-American Game MVP and a US Lacrosse All-American.

Sutton was a US Lacrosse All-American who also played in the Under Armour All-American Game.

Last year’s winners of the Peter Ortale Scholarship were Abington’s Tuan Ambler and Garnet Valley’s Ryan Guittare. In 2011 the winners were Chestnut Hill Academy’s Corbin Booker and Penn Charter’s Joey Sankey. In its inaugural year, Avon Grove’s Tim Golder and Upper Merion’s Nate Hare were the recipients.

Tags: , ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines