follow us on...

Six Philly men earn All-ACC honors; check them out this weekend at PPL Park

Wednesday, 23rd April 2014

Categories ACC Tourney, Boy's/Men's, College, college honors, Posted 4/23/14
From Press Release

Eleven student-athletes on the Tewaaraton Award watch list highlight this year’s All-Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Lacrosse Team, as announced today by the conference office. The team was determined by a vote of the league’s six head coaches who could not vote for their own players.

North Carolina junior attackman Joey Sankey (Penn Charter)

North Carolina junior attackman Joey Sankey (Penn Charter) – Photo for

Maryland, the No. 1 seed for this week’s 2014 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship, leads all schools with five selections to the All-ACC team. Duke, which shared the regular-season title with the Terrapins, joins North Carolina with four members on the squad. Notre Dame and Syracuse each have two All-ACC members, and Virginia one.

Niko Amato (La Salle), Mike Chanenchuk, Mike Ehrhardt, Goran Murray (Haverford School) and Charlie Raffa represent Maryland. Duke placed Deemer Class, Brendan Fowler, Myles Jones and Jordan Wolf (Lower Merion) on the squad. North Carolina’s selections are Jimmy Bitter, Ryan Creighton (Malvern Prep), Joey Sankey (Penn Charter) and Chad Tutton.

Matt Kavanagh and Steve O’Hara (St. Joseph’s Prep) are Notre Dame’s first-ever All-ACC selections, while Brandon Mullins and Kevin Rice are the first to be named from Syracuse. Mark Cockerton represents Virginia on this year’s All-ACC team.

Five members of the All-ACC teams are multi-year honorees as Duke’s Wolf and Maryland’s Amato collected All-ACC honors for the fourth times of their careers, joining only five other former ACC greats as four-time selections – NC State’s Stan Cockerton (1977-80), Maryland’s Pete Worstell (1977-78, 1980-81) and Virginia’s Scott Gerham (1981-84), Roddy Marino (1983-86) and Michael Watson (1994-97). Duke’s Fowler, North Carolina’s Sankey and Virginia’s Cockerton are repeat honorees having earned All-ACC honors in 2013.

Duke’s Wolf (3.29) and Virginia’s Cockerton (2.93) rank 1-2 among conference players and in goals per game. Wolf ranks third nationally, while Cockerton stands eighth. Wolf(4.79) and Syracuse’s Rice (4.5) lead the ACC in overall scoring and rank a respective fifth and sixth among all NCAA Division I players.

Rice leads the ACC and is tied for sixth nationally with 2.33 assists per match, followed by Notre Dame’s Kavanaugh at 2.0 per contest.

Maryland’s Amato has been solid in the net again this season, ranking fifth nationally while allowing a conference-low 7.38 goals per game. Duke’s Fowler (9.5) stands fifth nationally in ground balls per game, and Maryland’s Raffa (8.3) ranks second to Fowler among ACC players. Raffa’s .663 faceoff winning percentage leads the ACC and ranks third nationally.

The 2014 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship gets under way with two semifinal games Friday at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. Second-seeded Duke faces No. 3 Syracuse at 5 p.m., followed by No. 4 Notre Dame vs. No. 1 Maryland at 7:30 p.m. An “ACC Showcase Game” between North Carolina and Virginia will be played Saturday night at 7:30, followed by Sunday’s 1 p.m. title game between Friday evening’s winners.

ESPNU will televise the Friday evening semifinals and Sunday’s championship game, while ESPN3 will show the “ACC Showcase” on Saturday.

Individual awards, including Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year, will be voted on by the league’s head coaches following the ACC Championship.

2014 All-ACC Men’s Lacrosse Team

Deemer Class, So., M, Duke
Brendan Fowler, Sr., M, Duke !*
Myles Jones, So., M, Duke
Jordan Wolf (Lower Merion), Sr., A, Duke %*
Niko Amato (La Salle), Sr., G, Maryland %*
Mike Chanenchuk, Sr., M, Maryland *
Mike Ehrhardt, Sr., D, Maryland *
Goran Murray (Haverford School), Jr., D, Maryland
Charlie Raffa, Jr., M, Maryland
Jimmy Bitter, Jr., A, North Carolina
Ryan Creighton (Malvern Prep), Sr., M, North Carolina
Joey Sankey (Penn Charter), Jr., A, North Carolina !*

Chad Tutton, Jr., M, North Carolina *
Matt Kavanagh, So., A, Notre Dame
Steve O’Hara (St. Joseph’s Prep), Sr., D, Notre Dame *
Brandon Mullins, R-So., D, Syracuse
Kevin Rice, Jr., A, Syracuse *
Mark Cockerton, Sr., A, Virginia !*

% Four-Time All-ACC Team selection
! Two-time All-ACC Team selection

* 2014 Tewaaraton Award Candidates

ACC Championships at PPL Park
Single-game tickets and 3-day packages are on sale and can be purchased by clicking here.

The schedule:
Friday, April 25 – Semifinals
#3 Syracuse vs. #2 Duke 5:00 p.m. ESPNU
#4 Notre Dame vs. #1 Maryland 7:30 p.m. ESPNU

Saturday, April 26 – ACC Showcase

Virginia vs. North Carolina 7:30 p.m. ESPN3

Sunday, April 27 – Final
Winners of Semifinal 1 & Semifinal 2 1:00 p.m. ESPNU


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines