follow us on...

Philly ‘legendary nice guy’ Masters leader, coach and player DiPuppo to be honored among Legends of @lakeplacidlax

Friday, 18th July 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, Masters, Posted 7/18/14
From Press Release and Staff Report

The Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse Tournament, taking place Aug. 4-10, will celebrate its 25th anniversary with several ancillary events, including the Legends of Placid Lax tribute to those individuals who have enabled the tournament to grow from its modest beginnings.

This class will feature longtime Philly post-collegiate organizer/leader/coach/player Bob DiPuppo and will be introduced at Mid’s Park on Main Street in Lake Placid on Saturday, Aug. 9, in an evening event that is free to the public. Lake Placid Lacrosse, the entity that conducts the week-long festival, also announced that additional Legends will be inducted annually beginning in 2015.

The tourney, held at the North Elba Show Grounds on Route 73, now features 250 teams, men and women, from Scholastic divisions to Adult and Masters brackets. A total of 550 games will be contested over the week. This is in stark contrast to the inaugural event in 1990 that saw seven teams play a total of 14 games.

“We are proud to recognize those individuals and teams who have made substantial contributions to the growth and sustainability of the tournament,” said tournament director George Leveille. “This inaugural class of Legends truly represents both the spirit and substance of Lake Placid Lacrosse.”

DiPuppo helsp run, coach and play for the Philadelphia Masters Lacrosse Club, and the Gray Eagles Super Grand Masters Lacrosse Club and formerly ran, coached and played for the Eagles Grand Masters Lacrosse Club. In addition, he also runs the Grey Eagles Ultra Grand Masters (over 55) Club which is currently playing in Denver as part of the World Lacrosse Championship Festival.
He also plays in the Philadelphia Suburban Summer Lacrosse League- yes, as part of the Philly Masters.

He also was a member of USA Eagles Lacrosse and USA Freedom, both of which have played in past World Lacrosse Championships.

Among the 2014 inductees will be several local residents of note, including Butch Martin, North Elba Park District Manager. Martin, of Lake Placid, is credited by lacrosse organizers for building great facilities for the yearly competition.

Another Lake Placid resident, Bucky Hayes will be honored for anchoring the tournament’s security detail for the first 24 years.

The head men’s official from 1990-2012, John Morgan of Oneonta, N.Y., will be introduced as the man who has literally scheduled thousands of officials over his 13 years of service.

A number of individuals will be inducted posthumously, including iconic lacrosse and hockey coach Ned Harkness. He was known for his leadership of the Glens Falls Civic Center, and later became the first President and CEO of the Olympic Regional Development Authority in Lake Placid. The Open Division winner’s trophy bore the Harkness name in the event’s first 10 years.

Silver Anniversary men’s and women’s all-star teams will be announced, as well as Silver Anniversary teams of distinction.

“Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse is looking forward to this new component in our annual event,” added Leveille. “Our village provides wonderful venues for this combination of activities. This will be an interesting night. It heightens our event, and hopefully brings it to life to a new audience.”

Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse is partnering with Wounded Warrior Project to raise awareness and funding for its programs.

The tournament is sponsored by Samuel Adams Brewery, Warrior Lacrosse and Dick’s Sporting Goods.

For more information please log on to

Legends of Lake Placid Lacrosse 2014 Induction (Listed Alphabetically)

Prior Award Namesakes
1 – Ned Harkness (Dec) – Harkness Trophy went to Open winner first 8-10 years; instrumental at start
2 – Jim Muhlfelder (Dec) – Muhlfelder Award goes to women’s division participant; helped launch women’s play
3 – Larry Piatelli (Dec) – Piatelli Award goes annually to a men’s official; big time college athlete (hockey)
4 – Tom Pillsworth – Pillsworth Award goes to service provider; anchored tourney staff for many years
5 – Travis Solomon (Dec) – Solomon Award goes to player participant; great player, traditional approach
6 – Dan Spillett (Dec) – Spillett Award goes to Grand Masters participant; courage and determination

New Awardees

1 – Bob DiPuppo – Player and Team Organizer; leader, player, team organizer, legendary nice guy
2 – Bucky Hayes – Event Staff; anchored tournament security for 24 years
3 – Butch Martin – Town of North Elba Park District; opened all the right doors and built great facilities
4 – Doug Maynard (Dec) – Player, coach, organizer; big time competitor and great teammate to many
5 – John Morgan – Service, head men’s official 1990-2012; scheduled thousands of officials since 1990
6 – Powell Brothers – Players; three brothers from Carthage NY, all-stars at Syracuse and on the Placid lax fields
7 – Jake Reed – Player, Organizer; Brought high quality players to the event early on and lead the movement to a family oriented event
8 – Lyn Reitenbach – Player, organizer, service; helped to get the women’s divisions off the ground, great player
9 – Paul Schimoler (Dec) – Player; remarkable player and disciple of the game; winner of many championships
10 – Arty Waugh – Player; anchored the Mohawk Lacrosse Club and its successors including Cloud Splitter in goal for many years and several championships

Silver Anniversary Men’s All-Star Team
Attack: John Keller, Casey Powell, Ryan Powell, Tim Goldstein (Philly youth coach), Dave White, Gary Gait (former Philadelphia Wing), Ken Fougnier
Midfield: Jeff Long, Jake Plunket (Albright men’s coach), Rocco Guglielmo, Mark Hahn, Steve Sombrotto, Tim Soudan, Mark Walsh, Randy Fraser, Charlie Lockwood, Jack Piatelli, Lindsey Dixon, Jason Gifford
Defense/LSM: Ric Beardsley, Gerry Byrne, Tim Schurr, Carl Tedeschi, Al Brown, Regy Thorpe, Steve Scaramuzzino, Pat McCabe, John Tillman, Mark Burnham
Goal: Billy Daye, Paul Schimoler, Rich Barnes, Jim Mule

Silver Anniversary Women’s All-Star Team
Attack: Marley Ciferri, Tia Morgia, Lindsey Munday, Sarah Queener, Lyn Reitenbach, Katie Rowan
Midfield: Jen Adams, Sarah Albrecht, Sarah Averson, Kara Cannizzaro, Meredith Frank, Kristen Kjellman, Erica Lagrow, Andi O’Connor, Halley Quillinan, Kelly Taylor, Kristen Taylor
Defense: Kristin St. Hilaire, Chelsea Strodel Leveille
Goal: Leslie Delano, Ashley Gersuk

Silver Anniversary Teams of Distinction: Sailin Shoe, Cloud Splitter, Graph Tex, Rusty Red, FCA


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines