follow us on...

Philadelphia Wings are now New England Black Wolves (@NEBlackWolves)

Friday, 19th September 2014

Categories Box lacrosse, Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 9/19/14
From Press Release

The Mohegan Sun has introduced the New England Black Wolves for the 2015 National Lacrosse League season. The franchise, which will play home games at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Connecticut after moving from Philadelphia as the Wings, will kick off the 2015 season by hosting the Buffalo Bandits on Friday, Jan. 2 for the league’s first game of the new year.Print

“In ancient times, the Mohegan Tribe was part of the ‘Wolf Clan’ of the Delaware Indian Nation, making its way down through New York State in pursuit of the resources of the Connecticut shoreline,” Mohegan Tribal Council Chairman Kevin Brown said, explaining the choice of nickname. “Now, over 400 years later, the wolves are back in a new way on that shoreline – giving a team name and a new team spirit to Mohegan territory.”

Mohegan Sun and the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority (MTGA) entered into a partnership with the owners of the Philadelphia Wings on August 6.

“As we announced back on August 6th when we created a joint venture with the owners of the Wings, this is a franchise rich in history that was looking for a new injection of energy and opportunity,” Vice President Chris Sienko said. “We were a perfect fit. We have the ability to play in our own arena, and we play in a state that is growing by leaps and bounds with lacrosse players, both boys and girls, young and old, who enjoy watching and playing the sport.”

According to Black Wolves’ co-owner Brad Brewster, the popularity of lacrosse in this part of the country makes it a perfect host market.

“New England lacrosse is steadily catching New York and Maryland, traditional lacrosse hotbeds,” he said. “It’s a community that has produced some of the best players in the United States, and is an emerging lacrosse region, with growth in youth and high school programs across the area.”

For more information, or to purchase tickets, visit or call 844.LAX.WOLF (529.9653). Deposits are currently being taken for season tickets, groups and mini-plans.

Twitter: @NEBlackWolves
Facebook: New England Black Wolves
Instagram: @neblackwolves

New England Black Wolves 2015 NLL regular season schedule:

Week Day Date New England Black Wolves Eastern Time
1 Fri 2-Jan Buffalo at New England 7PM
2 Sat 9-Jan Rochester at New England 7PM
4 Sat 23-Jan Minnesota at New England 7PM
5 Fri 29-Jan New England at Edmonton 930PM
7 Sun 15-Feb Rochester at New England 6PM
8 Fri 20-Feb New England at Toronto 730PM
8 Sun 22-Feb Colorado at New England 1PM
11 Sat 14-Mar New England at Minnesota 8PM
12 Fri 20-Mar New England at Calgary 9PM
13 Sat 28-Mar Minnesota at New England 7PM
14 Fri 3-Apr New England at Minnesota 830PM
14 Sat 4-Apr New England at Buffalo 730PM
15 Sun 12-Apr Vancouver at New England 1PM
16 Fri 17-Apr New England at Toronto 730PM
17 Sat 25-Apr New England at Rochester 730PM
17 Sun 26-Apr Buffalo at New England 6PM
18 Fri 1-May Toronto at New England 7PM
18 Sat 2-May New England at Buffalo 730PM
– See more at:


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines