follow us on...

.@lakeplacidlax championship roundup: Philly players help @FCALacrosse win both U18 boys’ divisions

Thursday, 7th August 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club  

By Chris Goldberg, Posted 8/7/14

Philly players helped FCA claimed both U18 championships Wednesday at the 25th Lake Placid Summit Lacrosse Tournament.

FCA Gold champions

FCA Gold champions

Midfielder Drew Supinski (Haverford School, 2015 Johns Hopkins commit) scored two goals and four other Philly players led FCA to a 12-8 victory over Sweetlax (N.Y.) in the Gold Division (2015 class) final. Meanwhile, in the Silver Division (2016) final, three Philly players, Ryan McNulty (Bishop Shanahan, Loyola commit), Forry Smith (Haverford, Johns Hopkins commit) and Zach Abraham (Pennsbury) and head coach Dean Curtis (former Pennsbury coach) helped lead FCA to a 10-1 rout of the Long Island Outlaws 2016.

Attackman Grant Ament (Haverford School, 2015 Penn State commit and defenseman Jake Peden (Downingtown East, 2015 UNC commit) also played key roles for FCA 2015.

(See all results and MVPs, Sportsmanship winners below)

In the Gold final, FCA jumped to a 6-1 lead,but Sweetlax scored six straight goals – the last by Supinski’s Haverford teammate, Dox Aitken (2016 Virginia commit, two goals) – to take a 7-6 advantage. But face-off specialist Charles Kelly (Malvern Prep, 2015 UNC commit) began to control the possessions and Curtis Zappala (Episcopal Academy, 2015 MD commit) tied the game.

The teams traded goals before FCA tallied the last four goals of the game. Timmy Kelly (Calvert Hall, 2015 UNC commit) led FCA with three goals and Alex Roesner (Loyola Blakefield, 2015 Penn commit) added two.

Philly guys lead FCA to U18 Silver championship: (From L to R) Forry Smith (Haverford), Ryan McNulty (Bishop Shanahan), Zach Abraham (Pennsbury), Coach Dean Curtis and son John Curtis

Philly guys lead FCA to U18 Silver championship: (From L to R) Forry Smith (Haverford), Ryan McNulty (Bishop Shanahan), Zach Abraham (Pennsbury), Coach Dean Curtis and son John Curtis

Midfielder Tyler Will (Haverford School) also played for Sweetlax and scored once in the final.

Dox Aitken (left), Tyler Will of runner-up Sweetlax

Dox Aitken (left), Tyler Will of runner-up Sweetlax

“I think we arrived on Saturday and as soon as we got there we had a meeting with the coaches and our one goal was to go all the way,” said Supinski. “We all had the same approach; and we all worked together as a team to try and get there.

“This was my last summer tournament ever before I go to play college lacrosse and I really wanted to end on a good note with a championship against a really good team. It was a great experience.”

FCA had no trouble winning the Silver Division crown. It rolled through Pool Play – winning three games by a combined 38-4 – and then blitzed New England Elite Lacrosse Black, 14-2, in the semis.

“It was fantastic to be able to have some local players from Philadelphia on the team,” said Curtis. “They did a great job representing our area through their play on the field and also their contributions to the team huddles off the field.”

Curtis said the team had great talent, but even a better chemistry.

“It can sometimes be a challenge to get such a talented group of players to come together and play as a unit,” he said. “This group of young men all bought into our approach on both ends of the field.

“They were unselfish on offense and had great communication on the defensive end. They really got after it and jelled almost immediately.”

Lake Placid Lacrosse Scholastic Championships


Sweetlax U15 (NY) 8, LI Express 2017 Orange (NY) 6
(SL: Lucas Quinn, Niskayuna-NY, MVP, Andrew Barclay, Jamesville-DeWitt, Sportsmanship winner)

Third Place
LI Express 2018 Terps vs. Vs Cold Brook Laxers U15

U18 Gold

FCA Lacrosse 2015’s (MD) 12, Sweetlax U18 (NY) 8
(FCA: Drew Supinski, Haverford School-PA, named MVP
Sportsmanship: George Loring, Noble and Greenough School-MA)

Third Place
Crabs U18 (MD) 8, Academy Mortgage (MD) 7

Boys U18 Silver
FCA Lacrosse 2016’s (MD) 10, Long Island Outlaws 2016 (NY) 1
(FCA: Caleb Espinoza, Palmer-CO, goalie – MVP; LIO: Shane Brennan, G, Walt Whitman-NY, wins sportsmanship award)

Third Place
Team IAS Cougars (MA) 12, New England Elite Lacrosse Black 5

3D NE College Prep (MA) 9, Baltimore Crabs (MD) 7
(NEP: Erik Persky (New Canaan-CT, Penn named MVP
Sportsmanship: Matt Ryan, Phillips Exeter/Harvard)

Third Place
Lax World (NY) 12, Liberty Lacrosse (NY) 8


2015-2017 Pool A

FCA (MD) 12, Mass Elite Red 9
(FCA: Taylor Gebhardt, Baldwinsville-NY, named MVP
Sportsmanship: Keeley MacAfee, Notre Dame Academy-MA)

2015-2017 Pool B

Lady Eagles (NY) 11, Salt City Snipers (NY) 7
(LE: Madison Sanchez, Rocky Point-NY, named MVP
Sportsmanship: Maya Chiesa, Fayeteeville-Manlius-NY)

Third Place
Dazzling Divas 2017 (NY) 10, Common Goal 2017 Silver (NY) 1


Orange Crush (NY) 11, Salt City Snipers 2018-2019 (NY) 9
(OC: Eliza McCaul, named MVP
Sportsmanship: Katie Shanley)

Third Place, Wednesday, 8:30 a.m.
Long Island Lady Warriors (NY) 9, Common Goal 2019 Orange (NY) 7


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines