follow us on...

Crowley (@FusionLacrosse, @PhillyWings) helps Canada stuns USA, 8-5, to win @WorldLax2014 championship

Sunday, 20th July 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, International, Posted 7/20/14
From US Lacrosse

Five goals from Kevin Crowley (co-owner of Fusion Lacrosse, standout on Philadelphia Wings) and a ball-control game plan that kept the dangerous United States team with the ball out of its stick for extended periods of the game led Canada to its third Federation of International Lacrosse world championship gold medal.

Canada's Kevin Crowley (Fusion Lacrosse, Philadelphia Wings) is defended by Matt Abbott (By John Flickinger)

Canada’s Kevin Crowley (Fusion Lacrosse, Philadelphia Wings) is defended by Matt Abbott (By John Flickinger)

Canada beat Team USA in front of 11,861 fans at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in the 2014 FIL World Championship, presented by Trusted Choice, final.

Earlier in the day, the Iroquois Nationals claimed bronze with a 16-5 victory over Australia and England finished fifth with a 15-13 win over Scotland.

Canada dominated the ground game – scooping 35 ground balls compared to 22 for the United States, allowing the team to run extensive time off the clock after running out to a 3-1 lead at the half and 7-2 after three quarters. Team USA, which had not lost in the tournament and defeated Canada 10-7 on the opening night July 10, scored three late goals as it tried to mount a comeback, but it was too little, too late.

Canada, which also won titles in 1978 and 2006, made it three straight tournaments where the loser of the pool play game between the two powerhouses of the international game lost in the finals. The U.S. had won the 2010 world championship in Manchester, England.

Team USA’s early game was marred by poor shooting, as they took nine in the first quarter but only forced Canada goalie and tournament MVP Dillon Ward to make three saves. He didn’t have to make any in the second quarter, as Team USA only managed two shots but did score on one. He finished with ten saves on the day and was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

Kevin Leveille scored three for Team USA, bookending its day with its first two goals, then the final as time wound down. Rob Pannell, named Outstanding Attackman, had a goal and three assists.

USA All-World defender Tucker Durkin (La Salle) defends Canada's Curtis Dickson (Delaware) in Saturday's game (Photo by John Flickinger)

USA All-World defender Tucker Durkin (La Salle) defends Canada’s Curtis Dickson (Delaware) in Saturday’s game (Photo by John Flickinger)

Jordan Hall had a pair of assists for Canada and Cam Holding had another goal and assist as they kept the United States from winning its record 10th world championship.

Following the game the All-World team was named and the U.S. had three players named as the outstanding players at their positions – Pannell on attack, Paul Rabil at midfield and Tucker Durkin (La Salle) on defense. Ward was named the Outstanding Goalie in addition to the MVP.

All-World Team
Curtis Dickson (Delaware), Canada
Rob Pannell, United States
Lyle Thompson, Iroquois Nationals

David Lawson, United States
Paul Rabil, United States
Jeremy Thompson, Iroquois Nationals

Tucker Durkin (La Salle), United States
Brodie Merrill (Philadelphia Wings), Canada
Kyle Rubisch, Canada

Dillon Ward, Canada

Jordan McBride, who led Scotland to its best finish ever, sixth, with a team-high 38 points, was one of 10 players named to the President’s team. The team, consisting of the top 10 players in the tournament not competing in the Blue Division, was named prior to the start of the championship game between Canada and the United States. McBride was one of four Scotland players named to the team, including his brother, Jimmy.

The President’s Team:
Kyle Buchanan, Scotland
Ryan Licht, Ireland
Matt MacGrotty, Scotland
Jimmy McBride, Scotland
Jordan McBride, Scotland
Jonathan Munk, Czech Republic
Kevin Powers, Sweden
Ben Smith, Israel
Ari Sussman, Israel
James Van de Veerdon, Netherlands

Prior to the game, Robin Howie, was also honored with the Graham Lester Spirit of Lacrosse Award. The award is named in memory of Lester, the co-chair of the FIL Referee’s Committee from 1994-2008 who passed away late last year. Howie, from Stockport, England, worked as an administrator with the referee’s this year.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines