follow us on...

Youth lacrosse: Fever 2018 wins Summer Slam U13A championship

Wednesday, 26th June 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, Club, Youth, Posted 6/26/13

The Philadelphia Fever 2018 Orange team (6-1) captured the Summer Slam U 13 A title in a grueling day of heat and exiting lacrosse on Sunday at Pemberton, N.J.

Fever 2018 wins Summer Slam

Fever 2018 Orange picture attached. Standing: Coach Mark Petrone, Demetri Lowry, Ryan Morris, Jimmy Dougherty, Coach Vince Garman, Brian Jennings, Tommy Fredericks, Tim Carlson, Ethan Rodgers, Alex McKendry, Tucker Desperito, Brett Hobbs, Charlie Cordisco, Coach Tucker McBride, Coach Gavin McBride. Sitting: Coach Shane McBride, Matt Clibanoff, Blaine Yerger, Michael Clibanoff, Brian Fehr, Sean Bailey, Patrick Drake, Joey DeBernardi, Ryan Rosenblum, Kent Hjelm, Blaine Yerger, Nick Sowers, Chris Cara, Greg Osbourne

The Fever defeated New Jersey Junior Lacrosse League All-Stars in a close game, 10-9, proving to be a shocker to the New Jersey team who went undefeated before matching up against the tenacious Fever squad. NJJLL beat Building Blocks Lacrosse, a well-coached team, who beat Fever 2018 Orange earlier in the tournament.

The Fever 2018 Orange squad is headed by Mark Petrone, along with a young staff with great futures in coaching. These coaches include defensive coach Vince Garman, assistant coach Gavin McBride and goalie coaches Shane and Tucker McBride.

Fever defeated previously the unbeaten Orange Crush team from Syracuse, NY in the semi-final, 9-7, and had high hopes to bring back the trophy when it learned that they would face off against NJJLL.

After a rough start Fever trailed NJJLL 6-2 at halftime, but fought back to tie the game at 9 with under two minutes left. Early goals and solid play came from Kent Hjelm, Blaine Yerger, Ethan Rodgers, Brett Hobbs and Patrick Drake. Charlie Cordisco and Nick Sowers held down the defensive end and dominated NJJLL’s attack when the team needed him the most. Fever’s goalie, Michael Clibanoff, responded remarkably and held the strong NJJLL to only three goals in the second half.

As the game neared its end, a defensive stop allowed Coach Petrone to run a set play giving Matt Clibanoff an opportunity to lead Fever to a championship. He backed NJJLL’s best defender down, quickly turning and shooting on cage. His shot however bounced off the goalie’s stick, perfectly falling into Chris Cara’s mesh. He shot and scored with 1:10 left proving to be the game winning goal.

A face off win by Sean Bailey clinched the win giving The Fever its first championship of the Summer.

Team members: Matthew Clibanoff, Tim Carlson, Chris Cara, Michael Clibanoff, Jimmy Dougherty, Alex McKendry, Ethan Rodgers, Joey DeBernardi, Ryan Rosenblum, Brian Fehr, Brett Hobbs, Andrew Wolf, Charlie Cordisco, Tommy Fredericks, Sean Bailey, Brian Jennings, Demetri Lowry, TJ Malone, Patrick Drake, Blaine Yerger, Tucker Desperito, Ryan Morris, Nick Sowers, Greg Osbourne, Kent Hjelm.


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines