follow us on...

US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament: A guide to the event

Tuesday, 21st May 2013

Categories Girl's/Women's, High School, Posted 5/21/13

More than 1,300 high school girl’s lacrosse players from 33 states and Washington D.C., will come together at Lehigh University to compete against regionally-selected all-star teams from across the country this Friday through Sunday in the US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament.

The event, which began in 1933, features five high school divisions and also post-colegiate divisions. Lower New England was last year’s Valerie Walchak Trophy (Girls’ Champion) winner and Lower New England’s Maeve McMahon was the Heather leigh Albert winner (as Outstanding Player).

The Details:

Who: US Lacrosse is hosting the event that is annually scheduled in proximity to the NCAA Women’s Division I lacrosse.

Why: The National Tournament began in 1933 to showcase the best post-collegiate and club women’s lacrosse players. Since that time, it has grown into one of the largest women’s lacrosse events in the nation. It is a true celebration of women’s lacrosse and continues to represent the heartbeat of the game.

Who is Attending?: More than 100 college coaches will be in attendance for recruiting purposes, with many more still to register for the event.

Special Bonus appearance by US National team: The U.S. Women’s National Team will take on Team Canada Saturday in a 5 p.m. exhibition game. Admission is free for all spectators.

Admission: FREE

When: May 25-26: Hour-long games with 10 minutes in between games
May 25: Start at 8 a.m., end at 5:10 p.m.
May 26: Start at 7 a.m., end at 3 p.m.

Where: Lehigh University
Goodman Campus
124/150 Goodman Drive
Bethlehem, PA 18105

2013 US Lacrosse Women’s National Tournament website – click here

Heather Leigh Albert National Schoolgirl Award (Outstanding Player)

Year Name Team
1994 Beth Potter Philadelphia
1995 Jaque Weitzel South
1996 Sheehan Stanwick South
1997 Sheehan Stanwick South
1998 Kellie Thompson Chesapeake
1999 Lauren Aumiller U.S. U-19 National Team
2000 Kristy Dirks Middle Atlantic
2001 Katie Chrest Middle Atlantic
2002 Kathleen Miller Middle Atlantic
2003 Jennifer Hauser Middle Atlantic
2004 Megan Bosica Middle Atlantic
2005 Megan Bosica Middle Atlantic 1
2006 Emma Hamm Upper Atlantic 1
2007 Amanda Jones Upper Atlantic 1
2008 Kelly Austin Middle Atlantic 1
2009 Taylor Trimble Philly 1
2010 Taylor Trimble Philly 1
2011 Taylor Ranftle Long Island Metro 1
2012 Maeve McMahon Lower New England 1

Girls Championship team (Valerie Walchak Trophy)
Year Team
1994 Philadelphia 1
1995 South 1
1996 South 1
1997 Chesapeake 1 & South 1 (shared)
1998 Chesapeake 1
1999 Chesapeake 2
2000 Upper Atlantic 3
2001 Middle Atlantic 1
2002 Middle Atlantic 1
2003 Middle Atlantic 1
2004 Middle Atlantic 1
2005 Middle Atlantic 1
2006 New York 1
2007 Middle Atlantic 1
2008 Middle Atlantic 1
2009 Philly 1
2010 Long Island 1
2011 Baltimore Metro 1
2012 Lower New England 1


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines