follow us on...

Philly players named to BIG EAST men’s, women’s teams; men’s semifinals are today at Villanova

Thursday, 2nd May 2013

Categories Uncategorized, Posted 5/2/13
From Press Releases

Rutgers, St. John’s, Syracuse and Villanova shared the Big East men’s lacrosse regular season individual awards, as major award winners and all-conference teams were announced on Wednesday evening at the 2013 Big East Men’s Lacrosse Championship banquet, held at the Philadelphia Marriott West.

St. John’s junior Kieran McArdle was named Big East Attack Player of the Year and Villanova junior John LoCascio earned Big East Defensive Player of the Year honors. Syracuse senior JoJo Marasco was selected as the Big East Midfielder of the Year, and Rutgers freshman Kris Alleyne was the only rookie to earn a major award, tabbed as the Big East Goalkeeper of the Year.

Villanova head coach Mike Corrado was honored as the Big East Coach of the Year. Awards are voted on by the league head coaches, who are not permitted to vote for their own players.

McArdle was unanimously selected after leading the league this year with 85 points, 32 points more than the next-highest player. He recorded 36 goals and 49 assists to lead the league. In Big East play, McArdle led the league with 40 points on 18 goals and 22 assists. McArdle is also second in the nation in points per game (6.54 ppg).

LoCascio led the Wildcats’ defense during the regular season, collecting a team-high 75 ground balls and leading the squad with 47 caused turnovers. He was fourth overall with 6.25 ground balls per game and he recorded 7.17 in league play (also ranking fourth in the league).

Corrado led the Wildcats to a 5-1 mark in Big East play this year, earning a share of the Big East regular-season title for the first time in program history. Villanova earned the No. 1 seed overall for the Big East Championship. Corrado put together a difficult schedule, as the Wildcats faced nine opponents ranked in the top 20. Villanova won four of its last five games heading into the postseason.

The All-Conference First Team was highlighted by five unanimous selections as McArdle, Marasco and LoCascio are joined by Kevin Cernuto of St. John’s and Syracuse’s Brian Megill.

The Big East Championship will be held on the campus of Villanova. Competition will begin today, with No. 2 seed Syracuse facing off against No. 3 seed Notre Dame in the first semifinal of the day at 4:30 p.m. ET, televised live on ESPNU. At 7:00 p.m., No. 1 seed Villanova will play No. 4 seed Georgetown. That game will be broadcast on ESPN3, with the game replayed on ESPNU at 11:00 p.m.

First Team^
Matt Kavanagh, Notre Dame, Fr., A
John Kemp, Notre Dame, Sr., G
Jim Marlatt, Notre Dame, Jr., M
Matt Miller, Notre Dame, Sr., D
Kris Alleyne, Rutgers, Fr., G
*Kevin Cernuto, St. John’s, Jr., A
*Kieran McArdle, St. John’s, Jr., A
Luke Cometti, Syracuse, Sr., M
*JoJo Marasco, Syracuse, Sr., M
*Brian Megill, Syracuse, Sr., D
Chris Conroy, Villanova, Jr., D
Thomas Croonquist, Villanova, Jr., FO
John Kluh, Villanova, Fr., M
*John LoCascio, Villanova, Jr., LSM

^ Extra players added due to voting ties
* Unanimous selection

Second Team
Tyler Knarr (La Salle), Georgetown, R-Jr., FO
Charlie McCormick, Georgetown, So., M
Reilly O’Connor, Georgetown, So., A
Steve O’Hara (St. Joseph’s Prep), Notre Dame, Jr., D
Sean Rogers, Notre Dame, Sr., A
Andrew Barton, Providence, Jr., M
Joe Nardella, Rutgers, So., FO
Dillon Ayers, St. John’s, Sr., LSM
Jeff Lowman, St. John’s, Sr., G
Matt Harris, Syracuse, Jr., LSM
Derek Maltz, Syracuse, Jr., A
Max Hart, Villanova, Sr., M
Jack Rice, Villanova, Sr., A

Attack Player of the Year: Kieran McArdle, St. John’s
Midfielder of the Year: JoJo Marasco, Syracuse
Defensive Player of the Year: John LoCascio, Villanova
Goalkeeper of the Year: Kris Alleyne, Rutgers
Coach of the Year: Mike Corrado, Villanova

2013 Big East Women’s Lacrosse Teams
First Team

Nikki Boltja, Louisville, Jr., A
*Becca Block, Syracuse, Sr., D
Bridget Daley, Syracuse, Sr., M
Kelyn Freedman (Radnor), Georgetown, Jr., M
Jenny Granger, Notre Dame, Sr., A
Ellie Hilling, Notre Dame, Sr., GK
Ashley Hunter, Georgetown, Sr., D
*Lauren Kahn, Connecticut, Jr., M
*Alyssa Murray, Syracuse, Jr., A
*Marlee Paton, Loyola, Jr., M
Margaret Smith, Notre Dame, Jr., M
*Barbara Sullivan, Notre Dame, So., D
Caroline Tarzian, Georgetown, So., A
Kayla Treanor, Syracuse, Fr., A
Michelle Tumolo (Clearview Regional), Syracuse, Sr., A
Taryn VanThof, Loyola, R-So., M

* Unanimous selection

Second Team
Linley Block, Syracuse, Sr., D
Kelsi Bozel, Georgetown, Sr., M
Jackie Froccaro, Villanova, So., A
Maddy Lesher (Archbishop Carroll), Loyola, Fr., D
Katrina Martinelli (Moorestown), Rutgers, Jr., A

Kaylin Morissette, Louisville, Fr., M
Jaimie Morrison, Notre Dame, Sr., A
Shannon Nee (Manheim Township), Connecticut, Fr., GK
Monica Negron, Louisville, Jr., D
Katie Oliverio, Louisville, R-Sr., A
Morgan O’Reilly, Connecticut, Sr., A
Kacey Pippitt, Connecticut, Jr., A
Hannah Schmitt (Archbishop Carroll), Loyola, So., A
Annie Thomas, Loyola, So., A
Sophia Thomas, Georgetown, Sr., M
Katie Webster, Syracuse, Jr., M

Attack Player of the Year: Alyssa Murray, Syracuse
Midfielder of the Year: Lauren Kahn, Connecticut
Defensive Player of the Year: Becca Block, Syracuse
Coach of the Year: Katie Woods, Connecticut


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines