follow us on...

Men’s lacrosse: All-Patriot League Team, major awards announced

Wednesday, 24th April 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, Posted 4/24/13
From Press Release

The four teams to qualify for this weekend’s upcoming Patriot League Tournament have more to celebrate as the All-Patriot League team and major awards were announced Tuesday morning by the League office.

Twenty-four of the 26 student-athletes to earn All-League honors are competing in the tournament, as well as four of the five recipients of major awards.

Army sophomore attackman John Glesener was named the Offensive Player of the Year, while senior teammate Brendan Buckley was honored as the Defensive Player of the Year. Lehigh sophomore Matt Poillon was named Goalkeeper of the Year, and Bucknell freshman attackman Sean Doyle garnered the Rookie of the Year nod. The final award went to Holy Cross’ Jim Morrissey, who was named Coach of the Year.

Voting was conducted by the seven head coaches who could not cast a ballot for themselves or their own student-athletes.

Lehigh earned the most All-League selections with seven, followed by Bucknell and Army, with six apiece. Colgate was next with five on the All-League squad, while Holy Cross and Navy achieved one each.

Twelve of the 26 All-Leaguers are seniors, followed by seven sophomores, five juniors and a pair of freshmen.

Poillon becomes the third back-to-back recipient of the Goalkeeper of the Year honor, joining Navy’s Matt Russell (2005-06) and Army’s Adam Fullerton (2007-08). The sophomore from Mount Sinai, N.Y., enters the postseason with the League’s second-best goals-against average (7.70) and save percentage (.595). He owns a record of 9-2 on the season, including a 6-0 mark in Patriot League play. In League contests Poillon posted a League-best .620 save percentage while taking second with a 6.96 goals-against average. He is also a first-team All-League honoree for the second year in a row.

Two of Lehigh’s conference-best seven All-League selections were placed on the first team by the head coaches. Besides Poillon, senior defender Mike Noone (La Salle) made the top squad. He owns a team-best 21 caused turnovers in 13 games entering Friday, and has picked up 26 groundballs. Five Mountain Hawks were second-team honorees, including seniors David DiMaria (attack), Brian Hess (midfield), Ryan Snyder (face-off specialist), junior Ty Souders (Emmaus, defense) and sophomore Patrick Corbett (midfield). DiMaria is currently tops in the League in total points with 57, one ahead of Glesener, while his points-per-game average is second (4.07). He is also third in assists per game (2.21). Corbett is fourth on the team with 20 points and Hess is sixth with 16. Snyder is fourth in the League winning at a .509 clip at the midfield line, and Souders is second on the team with 18 caused turnovers.

Bucknell placed two on the first team and four on the second team. Both of the Bison’s first-team honorees were at midfield in sophomore David Dickson and freshman Thomas Flibotte. Dickson is the League leader in total assists (a school single-season record 42) and assists per game (3.00), while his 3.17 average during League play was also first. Flibotte is tied for eighth in the League with teammate Chase Bailey with 2.07 goals per game. Bailey, a senior, was named second-team All-League at attack with classmates Mike Huffner (defense) and Ryan Gutowski (face-off specialist), and junior Jackson Place (Episcopal Academy, defense). Place has a team-high 24 caused turnovers this season, while Huffner is second with 20. Gutowski is winning face-offs at a .524 clip thus far.

The 2013 Patriot League Men’s Lacrosse Tournament starts Friday with two semifinal contests, both on CBS Sports Network. No. 2 seed Bucknell battles third-seeded Army at 4:30 p.m., while host and No. 1 seed Lehigh takes on fourth seed Colgate at 7:30 p.m. The winners advance to Sunday’s championship game at 3 p.m. All three games will take place at Lehigh’s Ulrich Sports Complex in Bethlehem, Pa.

2013 All-Patriot League Team and Major Awards in Men’s Lacrosse

Offensive Player of the Year – John Glesener, Army, So., A
Defensive Player of the Year – Brendan Buckley, Army, Sr., D
Rookie of the Year – Sean Doyle, Bucknell, Fr., A
Goalkeeper of the Year – Matt Poillon, Lehigh, So.
Coach of the Year – Jim Morrissey, Holy Cross

First Team
John Glesener, Army, So., A
Garrett Thul, Army, Sr., A (**!)
Peter Baum, Colgate, Sr., A (***)
David Dickson, Bucknell, So., M (!)
Thomas Flibotte, Bucknell, Fr., M
Jimmy Ryan, Colgate, Jr., M
Brendan Buckley, Army, Sr., D
Bobby Lawrence, Colgate, Jr., D (*)
Mike Noone (La Salle), Lehigh, Sr., D (!)
Alex Daly, Army, Fr., FOS
Pat Kiernan, Navy, Jr., LSM (!)
Matt Poillon, Lehigh, So., GK (*)

Second Team
Chase Bailey, Bucknell, Sr., A
Ryan Walsh, Colgate, So., A (!)
David DiMaria, Lehigh, Sr., A (!)
John Hannan, Holy Cross, Sr., M
Patrick Corbett, Lehigh, So., M
Brian Hess, Lehigh, Sr., M
Mike Huffner, Bucknell, Sr., D (**)
Jackson Place (Episcopal Academy), Bucknell, Jr., D
Ty Souders (Emmaus), Lehigh, Jr., D (*)

Ryan Gutowski, Bucknell, Sr., FOS
Robert Grabher, Colgate, Sr., FOS (*)
Ryan Snyder (Dukes LC), Lehigh, Sr., FOS (*!)
Jimbo D’Aprile, Army, So., D-Mid
Sam Somers, Army, So., GK

& – Second team features 14 student-athletes because of a tie in the voting
* – Number of previous first-team accolades
! – Number of previous second-team accolades


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines