follow us on...

Men’s Division I All-Americans: PSU’s Kaut (Springfield-Delco) is 1st team pick, top goalie

Thursday, 23rd May 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, College, college honors, Posted 5/23/13

The United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) named junior Austin Kaut (Springfield-Delco) to its All-America First Team on Thursday, the first time a Nittany Lion earned first-team honors in 73 years. By virtue of his first-team honor, Kaut earned the Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top goalie in college lacrosse.

Kaut joins George Ritter as Penn State’s only USILA All-America First Team members. Ritter was a midfielder for the 1940 Nittany Lion squad. This is the 31st time in the program’s 100 seasons that a Nittany Lion garnered first, second or third team recognition. Kaut is also Penn State’s first back-to-back honoree on the All-America list since 1981-82 when goalkeeper Joe Guterding was a back-to-back third-team honoree.

For Kaut, he has steadily risen to becoming the nation’s top goalie, earning honorable mention in 2011 as a freshman, a third-team honor last season before this year’s first-team accolade. In 2014, Kaut will have a chance to become the first repeat Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award winner since 1999-2000 (Mickey Jarboe, Navy). Additionally, Kaut is the first goalie from the Colonial Athletic Association to earn a first-team All-America honor.

Kaut, the Colonial Athletic Association’s Player and Defensive Player of the Year, posted a career year with a 7.37 goals-against average (third in the nation) while making a career-high 194 saves this season. Kaut also stopped 61 percent of shots on goal (second in the nation) and registered a 12-5 record for the Nittany Lions. Kaut saved 10 or more shots in 12 of 17 games including three 16-save performances.

First Team

Marcus Holman, University of North Carolina
Robert Pannell, Cornell University
Lyle Thompson, University at Albany

Tucker Durkin (La Salle), Johns Hopkins University
Joe Fletcher, Loyola University
Jason Noble, Cornell University

Brendan Fowler, Duke University

Austin Kaut (Springfield-Delco), Penn State University

LP Midfield
Jesse Bernhardt, University of Maryland


Cameron Flint, University of Denver
John Haus, University of Maryland
David Lawson, Duke University
JoJo Marasco, Syracuse University
Tom Schreiber, Princeton University

Second Team

Kieran McArdle, St. John’s University
Logan Schuss, The Ohio State University
Jordan Wolf (Lower Merion), Duke University

Michael Ehrhardt, University of Maryland
Scott McWilliams, University of Virginia
Brian Megill, Syracuse University

Mike Poppleton, Johns Hopkins University

Niko Amato (La Salle), University of Maryland

LP Midfield
Scott Ratliff, Loyola University

Connor Buczek, Cornell University
Michael Chanenchuk, University of Maryland
Chad Tutton, University of North Carolina
Matt White, University of Virginia

Third Team

Mark Cockerton, University of Virginia
Steve Mock, Cornell University
Joey Sankey (Penn Charter), University of North Carolina

Brendan Buckley, United States Military Academy
Matt Miller, University of Notre Dame
Goran Murray (Haverford School), University of Maryland

Kevin Massa, Bryant University

Dillon Ward, Bellarmine University

LP Midfield
John LoCascio, Villanova University

David Dickson, Bucknell University
Rob Emery, University of Virginia
Jim Marlatt, University of Notre Dame
Josh Offit, Duke University
Max Van Bourgondien, Cornell University

Honorable Mention

Peter Baum, Colgate University
Wesley Berg, University of Denver
Jimmy Bitter, University of North Carolina
Robert Church, Drexel University
Thomas DeNapoli, Towson University
David DiMaria, Lehigh University
Josh Dionne, Duke University
Jack Forster (La Salle), Penn State University
Jeff Froccaro, Princeton University

John Glesener, United States Military Academy
Ty Thompson, University at Albany
Matt Kavanagh, University of Notre Dame
Eric Law, University of Denver
Alex Love, Hobart College
Mike MacDonald, Princeton University
Brandon Mangan, Yale University
Nick O’Reilly, University of Virginia
Connor Rice, Marist College
Jack Rice, Villanova University
Mike Sawyer, Loyola University
Wells Stanwick, Johns Hopkins University
Miles Thompson, University at Albany
Garrett Thul, United States Military Academy
Justin Ward, Loyola University

Reid Acton, Loyola University
Peter Johnson, Yale University
Chris Lightner, Johns Hopkins University
Joe Meurer, The Ohio State University
Michael Noone (La Salle), Lehigh University
Anthony Santomo, University of Pennsylvania

Jake Smith, University of Massachusetts
Ty Souders (Emmaus), Lehigh University

Dylan Levings, Yale University

Pierce Bassett, Johns Hopkins University
John Kemp, University of Notre Dame
Matt Poillon, Lehigh University
Andrew Wascavage, Towson University

LP Midfield
Thomas Keith, Cornell University
Mason Poli (Downingtown East), Bryant University

Dominique Alexander, The Ohio State University
Davis Butts, Loyola University
Landon Carr, University of Maryland
Luke Cometti, Syracuse University
Ryan Creighton (Malvern Prep), University of North Carolina
Will Haus, Duke University
Josh Hawkins, Loyola University
Jesse King, The Ohio State University
Tom LaCrosse, Penn State University
Ben McIntosh, Drexel University

Jeremy Noble, University of Denver
Henry Schoonmaker, Syracuse University
Sam Snow, Fairfield University
Jake Tripucka, Duke University
Jeff Tundo, Stony Brook University


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines