follow us on...

Inter-Ac Invitational semis: Haverford School, Malvern Prep will meet for title Wednesday

Tuesday, 21st May 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School  

By Chris Goldberg, posted 5/21/13

Gavin McBride admits the heat was on his Haverford School team when it opened the season 0-3.

“We started off slowly and the whole country made a point of telling us about it,” said McBride. “We were young, so we knew we would bounce back.”

Malvern Prep's Charles Kelly, the YBH-Audi Volkswagen Player of the Game, wins a draw vs. Stephen Clarke in Monday's 11-7 semifinal victory over Lawrenveille in the Inter-Ac Invitational semis (Photo by Rene Schleicher)

Malvern Prep’s Charles Kelly, the YBH-Audi Volkswagen Player of the Game, wins a draw vs. Stephen Clarke in Monday’s 11-7 semifinal victory over Lawrenceville in the Inter-Ac Invitational semis (Photo by Rene Schleicher)

Indeed, the Fords have begun to come of age. Monday night at Cabrini College they defeated Episcopal Academy, 9-8, before a packed crowd to advance to the Inter-Ac Invitational finals.

Third-seeded Haverford School (14-7) will meet top-seeded and Inter-Ac champion Malvern Prep for the title Wednesday at 7 p.m. at Cabrini.

The Fords have won five of their last six games – one of those victories being an 11-6 conquest of EA, which gave Malvern the crown. Haverford has used a lineup filled with freshmen and sophomores as well as a brand new backline and face-off players.

But the Fords showed their maturity Monday after EA (15-6) rallied well from a 6-2 second-period deficit and tied the game, 7-7 on a goal by freshman Peter Gayhardt (two tallies) with 5:00 left in the third quarter.

Timmy Brooks gave the Fords an 8-7 lead with 3:50 left in the period and Haverford’s defense, strong midfield play and a key save by freshman Alex DeMarco continued to stymie the dangerous Churchmen.

McBride, who put his team ahead 7-6 early in the second half and earned the YBH-Audi Volkswagen Player of the Game, added another with 5:40 left in the game. EA broke a 14:03 drought when Tyler Chambers (two goals) scored with 2:57 to play, but the lead held.

“It was a battle down there (in the last win over EA) and it’s always back-and-forth when we play them,” said McBride. “We try to withstand their runs and keep ours going. Tonight it worked.”

Reilly Hupfeldt had two goals for the Fords while Peter Blynn and Dew Supinski each had a goal and an assist.

For EA, Curtis Zappala had two goals and two assists.

“We rallied all week,” said EA coach Andy Hayes, who praised his team for bouncing back from the sting of losing out on a first Inter-Ac title in 15 years with the last Haverford loss. “Our guys played great; obviously it’s all about championships, but this senior class was as successful as any here in 15 years and their legacy is secure.”

Malvern Prep 11, Lawrenceville School 7

Sophomore face-off specialist was named the YBH-Audi Volkswagen Player of the Game by going 15 of 22 from the X and scoring a goal as the top-seeded Friars went on a 4-0 fourth-period run to advance to the final.

Kelly opened the fourth quarter with his goal off the draw, but Stephen Clarke came right back to win the next face-off before tying it seconds later.

After that, however, Kevin McGeary, Joe Dunn (two goals), Tommy O’Connor (two goals) and Adam Goldner scored within a 4:44 span. Kelly’s wins at the X were crucial.

“We were sloppy in the beginning,” Kelly said. “But we kept working. My wings share in all the credit for us gaining possession.”

Grayson Helm – a PG from Wyomissing High – led the Big Red with two goals.

“I was proud of your young guys; we gave a full effort,” Helm said. “In the fourth quarter we got worn down by their depth, but I am very proud of what we did.

“We were tied with the No. 3 team in the nation in the fourth quarter; we have nothing to be ashamed of. “It’s definitely been a great experience coming here.”

Haverford School 9, Episcopal Academy 8

Haverford School 5-1-2-1- – 9
Episcopal Academy 2-3-2—8

Haverford School
Reilly Hupfeldt 2g
Peter Blynn 1g, 1a
Grant Ament 1g
Drew Supinski 1g, 1a
Gavin McBride 2g
Colin Bosak 1a
Jeff Odiorne 1a
Connor Keating 1g
Timmy Brooks 1g
Alex DeMarco 3 saves

Episcopal Academy
Tyler Chambers 2g
Curtis Zappala 2g, 2a
Dutch Buckley 1a
Peter Gayhardt 2g
Matt Ernst 1g
Ian Strain 1g
Colin Reder 7 saves

Malvern Prep 11, Lawrenceville School 7

Malvern Prep
Ryan Hilburn 1 assist
Connor Glancy 1 goal 1 assist
Joe Dunn 2 goals
Adam Goldner 1 goal
Joe Carlini 3 assists
Kevin McGeary 1 goal 1 assist
Chris Hilburn 2 goals
Tommy O’Connor 2 goals
Drew Schantz 1 goal
Charles Kelly 1 goal, 15 of 22 FO, YBH-Audi Volkswagen Star of the Game
Matt Barrett 7 saves

Lawrenceville School
Grayson Helm 2g
Dylan Key 1g, 2a
Wade Maloney 1a
Nick Giacco 1g
PJ Finley 1g
Dan Berg 1g
Stephen Clarke 1g
Griffin Thompson 13 saves

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines