follow us on...

Host Penncrest, Jags Lax White take Endless Summer championships; All-tourney teams announced

Thursday, 26th September 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, High School, Posted 9/26/13

Host Penncrest finished to win the Senior Division at the 4th Annual Endless Summer Tournament on Sept. 14

Penncrest and Jags Lax kicked off the day with a nailbiter as Drew Hanna and Alex Bonnett led Penncrest to the win in the final seconds, reversing a four year trend of Jags Lax domination at the tournament. Penncrest then got on a roll with wins over Upper Darby, Downingtown East, and Kennett with stingy defense, from goaltenders Casey Brown and Dylan McCleaft, strong midfield play from Ethan Trusty, Ian McKernan, and Cameron Bryan, and a throttling attack led by Will Manganiello, Robert Logan, and Tommy Crowding.

Penncrest won the Varsity team title in the Endless Summer Tournament

Penncrest won the Senior Division team title in the Endless Summer Tournament

Kennett would hand Central Bucks West its loss of the day with some solid ball control and amazing desire. Kennett finished the day 2-2 with some very pretty goals by Beau Schmeusser and Brady O’Neill. Downingtown East proved too much for a much improved Upper Darby team that showed off an improved offense with brother Joe Simpson joining Ryan Simpson. The brothers, joined by Chris Stone, made other teams take notice that Upper Darby is ready to make an impact on the Central League.

Downingtown East would also finish the day two and two with a final second loss to CB West. Downingtown established itself with a strong defense led by Ryan Hummell and Jake Peden. CB West, on the other hand, is poised to make a run with a midfield led by Kevin Ernst and clutch shooting by Jim Stiegerwald and Jim Seykut.

In the Junior Division, Jags Lax White finished undefeated to win the title. Jags Lax Maroon suffered only a single loss. Upsets occurred throughout the day as Jags Lax Maroon lost to a strong Downingtown East Blue squad.

Downingtown East Blue also fell to Jags Lax White and was upset by Penncrest Red, which was led by Joe Quintilano, Zach Groses, and Zach Kaut. Boyertown fought hard throughout the day and lost two heartbreakers in bravehearts. Strath Haven split the day with consistent play from many of its younger players, including midfielder Will Huestis.

Final Senior Division Standings

Penncrest Gold
CB West
Downingtown East Gold
Upper Darby

Final Junior Division Standings
Jags Lax – White
Jags Lax – Maroon
Downingtown East Blue
Strath Haven
Penncrest Red

All-tournament honors went to:

Liam O’Donnell – D/LSM Penncrest
Will Manganiello – A Penncrest
Dylan Protesto – M Penncrest
Matt Petrisk – D Kennett
Hunt Schmeusser – FO/M Kennett
Beau Schmeusser – A Kennett
Brady O’Neill – A Kennett
Dylan Lee – M Garnet Valley
Kyle Roberts – A Garnet Valley
Daniel Lanham – F/O Garnet Valley
Steven Davis – D Garnet Valley
Chris Stone – A Upper Darby
Joe Simpson – A Upper Darby
Ryan Simpson – A Upper Darby
Pat Keil – D CB West
Jim Seykut – A CB West
Kevin Ernst – M CB West
Jim Stiegerwald – A CB West
Nathan Wingate – M Downingtown East
Kyle Tucker – LSM Downingtown East
Darian Vitelli – M Downingtown East
Ryan Hummell – D Downingtown East
Jake Peden – D Downingtown East

Tags: ,


Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Latest Headlines